Arts Post
Posted at 06:04 PM ET, 10/31/2011

The Vincent Scully Prize goes to William K. Reilly, the former EPA administrator

One of the country’s leading awards for innovative ideas for the preservation of buildings and land, the Vincent Scully Prize, is going to William K. Reilly, the former administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency.
President George W. Bush and Laura Bush honored National Medal of Arts winners in 2004, including Vincent Scully. (Susan Walsh - AP)

The award, given by the National Building Museum, was announced Monday by the museum. Reilly, who is also a former president of the World Wildlife Fund, will receive the award and deliver a talk in Washington November 8.

The award is named after Scully, the Sterling Professor Emeritus of the History of Art at Yale.

Its recipients have done groundbreaking work in the scholarship, criticism and practice of architecture, as well as historic preservation and urban design. Previous winners include Prince Charles, the Prince of Wales; Richard Moe, former president of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, as well as Adele Chatfield-Taylor, Christopher Alexander and Robert A. M. Stern.

By  |  06:04 PM ET, 10/31/2011

Read what others are saying

    © 2011 The Washington Post Company