Complete coverage
On Twitter PostSports  |  On Facebook Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS RSS
Posted at 11:02 AM ET, 09/23/2011

Dave Sheinin’s 2011 MLB awards

Baseball Insider Dave Sheinin handed out his awards on Thursday for American League and National League MVP, Cy Young, rookie of the year and manager of the year.*

Sheinin writes:

This year’s awards confront us with two big questions regarding value: Can a player on a losing team be as valuable as a player on a winning team? And should a pitcher be considered for most valuable player? My short answer to both questions: Yes, but the bar is set very high in either scenario.

Here are his winners:

AL MVP: Curtis Granderson, Yankees

NL MVP: Ryan Braun, Brewers

AL Cy Young: Justin Verlander, Tigers

NL Cy Young: Roy Halladay, Phillies

AL Rookie of the Year: Jeremy Hellickson, Rays

NL Rookie of the Year: Craig Kimbrel, Braves

AL Manager of the Year: Joe Maddon, Rays

NL Manager of the Year: Kirk Gibson, Diamondbacks

*The Post does not allow its writers to vote on actual awards.

By Washington Post Sports  |  11:02 AM ET, 09/23/2011

Read what others are saying

    © 2011 The Washington Post Company