Most Read: Sports
Complete coverage
On Twitter PostSports  |  On Facebook Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS RSS
Posted at 01:45 PM ET, 09/22/2011

Sheinin’s 2011 MLB awards picks: NL Cy Young

NL Cy Young

1. Roy Halladay (Phillies), 2. Clayton Kershaw (Dodgers), 3. Cliff Lee (Phillies).

Roy Halladay (Bob Levey - GETTY IMAGES)
Very little separates Halladay and Kershaw (and Lee, for that matter) in most of the meaningful pitching categories. What pushes Halladay to the top of my ballot is their relative pitching environments — the band-box of Philadelphia’s Citizens Bank Park versus the pitcher’s haven of L.A.’s Dodger Stadium (not to mention the entire NL West). It’s the main reason WAR likes Halladay better — as of this writing, he was ahead of Kershaw by half a run in the version and 1.2 runs in the version. Still, I suspect Kershaw’s slight lead in wins, strikeouts and ERA will sway most votersand hand him the hardware.

Next: AL Rookie of the Year

By  |  01:45 PM ET, 09/22/2011

Read what others are saying

    © 2011 The Washington Post Company