NHL announces television slots, time changes for Capitals games


(Photo by Alex Trautwig/Getty Images)

In addition to their coveted spot as hosts of the annual Winter Classic on New Years’ Day, the Washington Capitals will appear on NBC network affiliates 12 times next season, the league announced Tuesday.

Six of those will be home games, scheduled as part of NBC Sports Network’s “Wednesday Night Rivalry” series: Oct. 29 vs. Detroit (7:30 p.m.), Jan. 14 vs. Philadelphia (8 p.m.), Jan. 28 vs. Pittsburgh (8 p.m.), Feb. 25 vs. Pittsburgh (8 p.m.), March 11 vs. New York Rangers (8 p.m.) and April 8 vs. Boston (8 p.m.).

The Capitals will also play one West Coast game vs. San Jose on Feb. 11 at 10:30 p.m. EST, part of the nightcap series for NBCSN that follows the “Wednesday Night Rivalry.”

For the second time in franchise history, Washington will participate in the outdoor Winter Classic, this time hosting Chicago at a to-be-announced location — most likely Nationals Park — on Jan. 1 at 1 p.m., one of two Capitals games scheduled for NBC. The other is a Sunday matinee road date at Philadelphia on Feb. 22 (12:30 p.m.).

Here’s the full slate of Washington’s 12 national broadcasted games, all times in EST:

Wed., Oct. 29: vs. Detroit, 7:30 p.m., NBCSN

Sat., Dec. 27: at Pittsburgh, 7:30 p.m., NBCSN

Thurs., Jan. 1: vs. Chicago, 1 p.m., NBC

Wed., Jan. 14: vs. Philadelphia, 8 p.m., NBCSN

Wed., Jan. 28: vs. Pittsburgh, 8 p.m., NBCSN

Sun., Feb. 1: vs. St. Louis, 1 p.m., NBCSN

Wed., Feb. 11: at San Jose, 10:30 p.m., NBCSN

Sun., Feb. 22: at Philadelphia, 12:30 p.m., NBC

Wed., Feb. 25: vs. Pittsburgh, 8 p.m., NBCSN

Wed., March 11: vs. N.Y. Rangers, 8 p.m., NBCSN

Sun., March 15: vs. Boston, 7:30 p.m., NBCSN

Mon., March 16: at Buffalo, 7 p.m., NBCSN

Wed., April 8: vs. Boston, 8 p.m., NBCSN

That Dec. 27 game vs. Pittsburgh was one of two time changes announced by the NHL on Tuesday. It moved from 7 p.m. to 7:30 p.m., while Washington’s road game vs. Los Angeles on Feb. 14 switched from 10:30 p.m. EST to 10 p.m. EST.

Alex Prewitt covers the Washington Capitals. Follow him on Twitter @alex_prewitt or email him at alex.prewitt@washpost.com.
Comments
Show Comments
Most Read Sports
Stats, scores and schedules
Next Story
Alex Prewitt · July 17

Every story. Every feature. Every insight.

Yours for as low as JUST 99¢!

Not Now