wpostServer: http://css.washingtonpost.com/wpost

The Post Most: Sports

http://www.washingtonpost.com/sports/tv-listings-dc
On Twitter: dcsportsbog and SarahKogod  |  The Bog on Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS
Posted at 02:25 PM ET, 05/04/2011

Bruce Boudreau explains the too-many-men penalty


If Mike Knuble’s apparent first-period goal had stood on Tuesday night, who knows what might have happened?

But it was washed out by a too-many-men-on-the-ice penalty, which is not how you want goals to be washed out during crucial road playoff games.

Comcast SportsNet handily pointed out those too many men during its postgame show.

4 is Alex Ovechkin, who sent the puck toward the goal to start the play.

6 is Mike Knuble, who shoveled the puck into the net.

2 is Mike Green and 3 is Nicklas Backstrom, who didn’t really figure into the play.

1 is Alex Semin and 5 is John Carlson. Both men apparently came onto the power play to replace Brooks Laich, who took a puck to the face and left for repairs.

After the game, Bruce Boudreau was asked if he knew what happened.

“I know exactly what happened on the too-many-men,” he responded. “You want me to describe it? Laich was playing defense, and he came off the ice. And Semin went on, and Carlson went on. Carlson was supposed to go on.”

Ouch, Bad Sasha, ouch. Boudreau later expounded.

“Still, if you look at that play, the goal was in the net before the referee made the call,” he said. “And it wasn’t the referee that made the call at all. I mean, the linesman told Dan O’Rourke that there was too many men on the ice. So I don’t know.

“I mean, it was definitely too many men, but [Carlson?] didn’t make it past the red line before they called it. It sounds like whining, but if you asked me the question, I’m explaining — nobody got into the play. Came in, came out, he didn’t get involved in any of the play.

“And during the course of the season, one out of two refs will tell you, Well, I want him to get involved in the play before I call it. The other one will say no, as soon as he gets on the ice he’ll call it. So the rule is ambiguous to the coaches, or to me at least.”

See video at SB Nation DC.

By  |  02:25 PM ET, 05/04/2011

Categories:  Caps

 
Read what others are saying
     

    © 2011 The Washington Post Company