Most Read: Sports
On Twitter: dcsportsbog and SarahKogod  |  The Bog on Facebook  |  E-mail alerts: Redskins and Sports  |  RSS
Posted at 09:37 AM ET, 03/21/2007

This year's Florida

I leave for St. Louis tonight. This region has my name written all over it, so I can't wait. The one-and-only Jerry Palm will be there. So will A.J. Graves of Butler. So will 5-6 Tajuan Porter of Oregon and the Tark boys of Vegas. (Before my wife just walked out the door for work, I told her to expect a phone call one night so I can put her on the phone with Palm. "I don't care about Jerry Palm," she said. "If you can do the dishes before you leave, that would be great."

So I wrote about the similarities between Oregon's season and the 2006 Gators season. I know, I know, there are more differences between the two teams than we can count, but the seasons did have a striking parallel. The problem, of course, is that Oregon probably won't get to Atlanta, but who knows? One person who thinks the Ducks will is Stephen Whyno, the Maryland beat writer for The Diamondback who did a terrific job all season. Stephen has the Ducks winning the entire tournament. I applaud the courage of the pick.

Who thinks Oregon is this year's Florida? Is it someone else? Is it no one? Who is this year's UConn? (Who thinks the 'Who is this Year's Whatever' has gotten out of hand over the past few weeks?) Who is this year's 1983 Pepperdine? Who is this year's 1980 Louisville? Who is this year's Miles Simon?

By  |  09:37 AM ET, 03/21/2007

Categories:  College Basketball

Read what others are saying

    © 2011 The Washington Post Company