wpostServer: http://css.washingtonpost.com/wpost2

Most Read: Sports

http://www.washingtonpost.com/2010/07/06/ABMK8PP_linkset.html
The Early Lead
Posted at 12:40 PM ET, 09/25/2012

NFL makes the call: The Packers-Seahawks ‘game is final’

The NFL has spoken: despite a flood of criticism, the Seattle Seahawks’ victory over the Green Bay Packers stands.

The NFL, in a statement released this afternoon, said that replacement refs could have called offensive pass interference on Seahawks wide receiver Golden Tate, but said “the game is final.” Replacement referees, working since the NFL locked out its regular refs in June, made the controversial call in the “Monday Night Football” game.

As the clock was running down, Seahawks quarterback Russell Wilson launched a pass toward the end zone, Tate appeared to push Green Bay defender Sam Shields and M.D. Jennings, photos show, came down with the interception. However, referees ruled it a touchdown catch by Tate and Seattle won, 14-12.

The full statement (via NFL.com) is after the jump.

Mark Maske: More on the NFL’s statement

In Monday's game between the Green Bay Packers and Seattle Seahawks, Seattle faced a 4th-and-10 from the Green Bay 24 with eight seconds remaining in the game.

Seattle quarterback Russell Wilson threw a pass into the end zone. Several players, including Seattle wide receiver Golden Tateand Green Bay safety M.D. Jennings , jumped into the air in an attempt to catch the ball.

While the ball is in the air, Tate can be seen shoving Green Bay cornerback Sam Shields to the ground. This should have been a penalty for offensive pass interference, which would have ended the game. It was not called and is not reviewable in instant replay.

When the players hit the ground in the end zone, the officials determined that both Tate and Jennings had possession of the ball. Under the rule for simultaneous catch, the ball belongs to Tate, the offensive player. The result of the play was a touchdown.

Replay Official Howard Slavin stopped the game for an instant replay review. The aspects of the play that were reviewable included if the ball hit the ground and who had possession of the ball. In the end zone, a ruling of a simultaneous catch is reviewable. That is not the case in the field of play, only in the end zone.

Referee Wayne Elliott determined that no indisputable visual evidence existed to overturn the call on the field, and as a result, the on-field ruling of touchdown stood. The NFL Officiating Department reviewed the video today and supports the decision not to overturn the on-field ruling following the instant replay review.

The result of the game is final.

Applicable rules to the play are as follows:

A player (or players) jumping in the air has not legally gained possession of the ball until he satisfies the elements of a catch listed here.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3 of the NFL Rule Book defines a catch:

A forward pass is complete (by the offense) or intercepted (by the defense) if a player, who is inbounds:

(a) secures control of the ball in his hands or arms prior to the ball touching the ground; and(b) touches the ground inbounds with both feet or with any part of his body other than his hands; and(c) maintains control of the ball long enough, after (a) and (b) have been fulfilled, to enable him to perform any act common to the game (i.e., maintaining control long enough to pitch it, pass it, advance with it, or avoid or ward off an opponent, etc.).

When a player (or players) is going to the ground in the attempt to catch a pass, Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 states:

Player Going to the Ground. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 5 states:

Simultaneous Catch. If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball.

Follow us: @CindyBoren | @MattBrooksWP

More

Mark Maske: The NFL won’s overturn the result

Sally Jenkins: Replacements’ incompetence is the fault of the NFL

Former president Bill Clinton disputes the referees’ call

Packers-Seahawks ending has NFL under fire

Refs lockout: Where do things stand?

Ref rage: A controversial ending to Seahawks-Packers

Jerry ’n’ Jed: What controversy?

Twitter reaction to Packers-Seahawks ending

Bill Belichick grabs referee, awaits fine

John Fox, Jack Del Rio fined

Kyle Shanahan incident to be reviewed by NFL

NFL warns teams about conduct toward replacements

Integrity of the game is on the line

Pressure grows to bring back regular refs

By  |  12:40 PM ET, 09/25/2012

 
Read what others are saying
     

    © 2011 The Washington Post Company