Here is who will be in the home run derby — so far

July 8, 2014

Will Dodgers star Yasiel Puig, left, set a record for bat-flips at Monday’s home run derby? (David Zalubowski/Associated Press)

The MLB home run derby, to be contested Monday night, will be made up of five-man squads from the American League and the National League. Today we received an update on who will be filling out those teams, with the final member for each league to be announced Thursday.

The AL team will include (home run statistics from before Tuesday’s games):

Captain — Jose Bautista, Blue Jays (17 HRs, 10th in AL)

Yoenis Cespedes, Athletics (14 HRs, 16th in AL)

Brian Dozier, Twins (16 HRs, 12th in AL)

Adam Jones, Orioles (16 HRs, 12th in AL)

The NL team will include:

Captain — Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies (18, 2nd in NL)

Todd Frazier, Reds (17 HRs, 5th in NL)

Yasiel Puig, Dodgers (12 HRs, 26th in NL)

Giancarlo Stanton, Marlins (21 HRs, 1st in NL)

Puig has the fewest homers of both of those groups, but he is arguably the player fans will most want to see, if only for the what-will-he-do factor.

We know that the final member of the AL squad will not be Mike Trout or Miguel Cabrera. A story at indicates that White Sox slugger Jose Abreu (27 home runs) remains a possibility. Cespedes will vie to become the events first back-to-back winner since Ken Griffey Jr. (1998-99).

This former editor and part-time writer at The Post is now happy to prove that if you combine 'blowhard' and 'blaggard,' you get 'blogger.' He previously had used 'Desmond Bieler' as his byline, but feels that shortening the first name to 'Des' nicely conveys his ever-decreasing gravitas. He also covers Fantasy Football.
Continue reading 10 minutes left
Show Comments
Next Story
Des Bieler · July 8, 2014