Jimmy Graham’s signature, post-touchdown move got him into hot water Friday night with New Orleans Saints Coach Sean Payton and now he’s promising to be a little more judicious with his celebrations.
“You know, for four years and however many touchdowns, I’ve always dunked it,” Graham said of dunking the football over the crossbar, “and I just gotta stop doing that now.” That’s a good idea because the move now will draw a 15-yard penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct. Graham added Sunday that he and Payton had cleared the air over the topic in a meeting over the weekend.
“Listen, I’m his biggest fan,” Payton said, “and I’m sure as we get going here, that type of thing isn’t going to be a problem. You know, rules are changing constantly whether we like them or whether we voted for them or any of those things. But listen, he’s outstanding. He’ll be ready to go. And then what took place in the meeting will be between he and I.”
Graham says he’d “never do anything to hurt the team.”
“I just love the game,” he said. “I have a lot of passion for the game. When I go out on Sundays, it’s fun for me.”