Ryan Kerrigan not fined for personal foul vs. Dolphins

Washington Redskins rookie linebacker Ryan Kerrigan did not receive a fine for the personal foul that officials flagged him for in Sunday’s loss to the Miami Dolphins, according to a league official.

Early in the second quarter, Kerrigan leveled a hit on Miami’s Dan Thomas as the running back missed a pass from quarterback Matt Moore. The referee announced that Kerrigan was guilty of a helmet-to-helmet hit on a defensless receiver, and the Dolphins received a first down and nine yards were marched off.

Redskins Coach Mike Shanahan said Thursday that the right call wasn’t made.

“In my opinion it wasn’t a very good call at all,” Shanahan said of the play. “There was no helmet-to-helmet. I looked at the TV copy and looked at our copy. Sometimes those guys make mistakes. . . . He did not hit him in the helmet, at least from what I saw. Every now and then they’ll have a bad call.”

Judging by the league’s decision not to fine Kerrigan, after the play was reviewed, officials must have agreed.

Kerrigan on Sunday had two sacks and two forced fumbles, which mark a career-best for a single game. He also had six tackles.

Washington’s first-round pick out of Purdue, Kerrigan ranks second on the team with five sacks and also has 41 tackles. His four forced fumbles are tied for first in the NFL.

Mike Jones covers the Washington Redskins for The Washington Post. When not writing about a Redskins development of some kind – which is rare – he can be found screaming and cheering at one of his kids’ softball, baseball, soccer or basketball games.

sports

redskins

Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Comments
Show Comments
Most Read

sports

redskins

Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters