Shanahan: Calls on Robinson’s non-catch, Griffin’s fumble were correct

Mike Shanahan confers with referee Ed Hochuli after Sunday's fumble by Robert Griffin III (Ricky Carioti/The Washington Post)

Mike Shanahan confers with referee Ed Hochuli after Sunday’s fumble by Robert Griffin III (Ricky Carioti/The Washington Post)

Coach Mike Shanahan said Monday he agrees with two key calls by the officials that went against the Washington Redskins during their loss Sunday to the Detroit Lions at FedEx Field.

Wide receiver Aldrick Robinson had a touchdown catch that would have given the Redskins a fourth-quarter lead negated by the officials after an instant-replay review. The officials originally ruled the play a legal catch and a touchdown. But the call was changed to an incomplete pass after the replay review, with the officials ruling that Robinson had failed to maintain control of the ball as he tumbled to the ground in the end zone.

Robinson said Sunday that he had his left hand beneath the ball the entire time and the play should have been ruled a catch and a touchdown.

The officials also ruled that Redskins quarterback Robert Griffin III fumbled when he lost the ball as he dove heard-first to the turf on a fourth-quarter scramble.

“They were correct calls,” Shanahan said during a news conference Monday afternoon at Redskins Park. “Both calls were correct. Aldrick, the ball did hit the ground. And Robert, you can go head-first but you have to have the ball security when you do hit the ground. And so even though you could slide, once you stop sliding forward, if he had control of it then and then he was getting up and let that ball go, then it wouldn’t be declared a fumble. But that was a fumble.”

Shanahan said he was in contact with the league office to verify that he had the proper understanding of the rule covering when quarterbacks are to be ruled down on a slide.

“They’ve clarified that a few times,” Shanahan said. “But I actually did talk to them just to make sure I have the correct interpretation of the rule. And it was correct.”

Shanahan, on a separate issue, predicted that the NFL will rescind the $42,000 fine that it imposed on Redskins safety Brandon Meriweather last week for a helmet-to-helmet hit on Green Bay Packers running back Eddie Lacy in the season’s second game.  Meriweather has said he would appeal the fine.

“The first hit he had, the one he got fined on, the $42,000 fine, I think that will be rescinded because that hit was a legal hit, at least in my interpretation after seeing it again,” Shanahan said. “I think that will be rescinded. But I think what they’re gonna try to do is emphasize, even coming in on that angle, from now on will not be allowed in the National Football League. So that will be a new rule that will be implemented as time goes on.”

Have a Redskins question? E-mail Mike Jones at mike.jones@washpost.com with the subject line “Mailbag question” for him to answer it in The Mailbag on Tuesday.

What’s ahead:

● Sunday’s opponent, the Oakland Raiders, plays at 8:40 p.m. tonight in Denver. Here’s a preview of that game.

More on the Redskins and NFL:

Shanahan pleased with offensive balance vs. Lions

Cofield: Defense isn’t playing well enough to win | Forbath hopeful for Oakland

Chester: RGIII good enough to win | Garcon: He’s still not himself

D.C. Sports Bog: Smoot: RGIII a ‘brat,’ Shanahan ‘Red Lobster’ | More Bog

The Early Lead: Cardinals’ Johnson loses part of finger | More NFL

Follow: @MikeJonesWaPo | @MarkMaske | @Insider | Insider on Facebook

Also on The Insider

Shanahan mostly pleased with offensive balance vs. Lions