Most Read

Friends' activity

More GOG
Posted at 01:00 PM ET, 11/07/2011

Theater comings and goings this week


Sabrina Mandell, Matthew Pauli, Esther Williamson, Mark Jaster and Gwen Grastorf star in "Widow Forthright Academy for Precocious Twins" from Happenstance Theater's production of "Cabaret Macabre." ( Danisha Crosby)

Theater buffs, take note: This week is your last chance to see three area productions, and your chance to get tickets to several new shows.

Last chance

A Bright New Boise closes Sunday at Woolly Mammoth Theatre, 641 D St. NW. 202-393-3939. www.woollymammoth.net.

Barrymore closes Sunday at Howard Community College, Rep Stage. 10901 Little Patuxent Pkwy., Columbia. 443-518-1500. www.repstage.org.

Cabaret Macabre ” closes Sunday at Round House Theatre, 8641 Colesville Rd., Silver Spring. 240-644-1100. www.roundhousetheatre.org.

Opening soon

A Baltimore teen who loves to dance becomes a local celebrity in Hairspray .” Nov. 21 through Jan. 29. Signature Theatre, 4200 Campbell Ave., Arlington. 703-820-9771. www.signature-theatre.org. $62-$86.

In Dr. Dolittle,” a soldier during World War I writes letters to his son describing a doctor who can talk to animals and makes peace among warring animals in Africa. Nov. 23 through Jan. 8. Imagination Stage, 4908 Auburn Ave., Bethesda. 301-280-1660. www.imaginationstage.org. $10-$22.

Round House Theater stages Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.” Nov. 23 through Dec. 31. Round House Theatre, 4545 East West Hwy., Bethesda. 240-644-1100. www.roundhousetheatre.org. $25-$60.

A mouse whose house was skipped by Santa last Christmas goes on an adventure with an elf and a girl in ’Twas the Night Before Christmas.” Nov. 18 through Jan. 2. Glen Echo Park, Adventure Theatre, 7300 MacArthur Blvd., Glen Echo. 301-634-2270. www.adventuretheatre.org. $17.

Ford’s Theatre presents the classic tale of Ebenezer Scrooge and the ghosts of Christmas past, present and future, A Christmas Carol.” Nov. 18 through Dec. 31. Ford’s Theatre, 511 10th St. NW. 202-347-4833. www.fordstheatre.org. $46-$75.

In Equivocation,” William Shakespeare and his troupe attempt to find a balance between art and politics in 1605 London. Nov. 18 through Jan. 1. Arena Stage, 1101 Sixth St. SW. 202-488-3300. www.arenastage.org. $55-$100.

By  |  01:00 PM ET, 11/07/2011

 
Read what others are saying
     

    © 2011 The Washington Post Company