Most Read: Local

Maryland Politics
Posted at 05:05 PM ET, 05/15/2012

How the Md. Senate voted on the tax bill

The Maryland Senate. (Steve Ruark — Associated Press)
The Maryland Senate approved three bills on Tuesday that would raise income taxes on six-figure owners, shift a part of teacher pension costs to the counties and make other changes to the state budget as lawmakers left it when they adjourned April 9. The Senate action moved the special session debate on the bills to the House of Delegates.

Here’s a look at how senators voted on SB1302, the tax bill, which was most controversial:

VOTING FOR THE BILL (27 Democrats)

* Sen. Joanne C. Benson (D-Prince George’s)

* Sen. Joan Carter Conway (D-Baltimore)

* Sen. Ulysses Currie (D-Prince George’s)

* Sen. James E. DeGrange Sr. (D-Anne Arundel)

* Sen. William C. Ferguson IV (D-Baltimore)

* Sen. Jeannie Forehand (D-Montgomery)

* Sen. Brian E. Frosh (D-Montgomery)

* Sen. Robert J. Garagiola (D-Montgomery)

* Sen. Lisa A. Gladden (D-Baltimore)

* Sen. Verna L. Jones-Rodwell (D-Baltimore)

* Sen. Edward J. Kasemeyer (D-Baltimore County)

* Sen. Dolores G. Kelley (D-Baltimore County)

* Sen. Nancy J. King (D-Montgomery)

* Sen. Richard S. Madaleno Jr. (D-Montgomery)

* Sen. Roger Manno (D-Montgomery)

* Sen. Nathaniel J. McFadden (D-Baltimore)

* Sen. Thomas M. Middleton (D-Charles)

* Sen. Thomas V. Mike Miller Jr. (D-Calvert)

* Sen. Karen S. Montgomery (D-Montgomery)

* Sen. Douglas J.J. Peters (D-Prince George’s)

* Sen. Paul G. Pinsky (D-Prince George’s)

* Sen. Catherine E. Pugh (D-Baltimore)

* Sen. Victor R. Ramirez (D-Prince George’s)

* Sen. Jamie B. Raskin (D-Montgomery)

* Sen. James N. Robey (D-Howard)

* Sen. James C. Rosapepe (D-Prince George’s)

* Sen. Ronald N. Young (D-Frederick)

VOTING AGAINST THE BILL (12 Republicans, 7 Democrats)

* Sen. John C. Astle (D-Anne Arundel)

* Sen. David R. Brinkley (R-Frederick)

* Sen. James Brochin (D-Baltimore County)

* Sen. Richard F. Colburn (R-Dorcester)

* Sen. Roy P. Dyson (D-St. Mary’s)

* Sen. George C. Edwards (R-Garrett)

* Sen. Joseph M. Getty (R-Carroll)

* Sen. Barry Glassman (R-Harford)

* Sen. Nancy Jacobs (R-Harford)

* Sen. J.B. Jennings (R-Harford)

* Sen. Allan H. Kittleman (R-Howard)

* Sen. James N. Mathias Jr. (D-Worcester)

* Sen. C. Anthony Muse (D-Prince George’s)

* Sen. E.J. Pipkin (R-Cecil)

* Sen. Edward R. Reilly (R-Anne Arundel)

* Sen. Christopher B. Shank (R-Washington)

* Sen. Bryan W. Simonaire (R-Anne Arundel)

* Sen. Norman R. Stone Jr. (D-Baltimore County)

* Sen. Robert A. Zirkin (D-Baltimore County)


* Sen. Katherine A. Klausmeier (D-Baltimore County)

By  |  05:05 PM ET, 05/15/2012

Read what others are saying

    © 2011 The Washington Post Company