Gio Gonzalez wins Warren Spahn Award

Gio Gonzalez
(Patrick McDermott/Getty Images)

Gio Gonzalez will not find out his Cy Young fate until after the postseason, but he can already clear some space on his mantel.

Gonzalez, the Nationals’ No. 1 starter in the postseason, won the Warren Spahn Award as the best left-handed pitcher in the majors based on ERA, wins and strikeouts. Gonzalez beat out David Price and Clayton Kershaw, among others, with a major league-best 21 wins, 207 strikeouts and a 2.89 ERA.

“I’m honored to be even be mentioned in the same breath as Warren Spahn and the past winners of this award,” Gonzalez said in a statement. “I am truly humbled by this recognition.”

The Warren Spahn Award is given by the Bricktown Rotary Club of Oklahoma City and Jim Thorpe Association. Spahn, who holds the all-time record with 363 wins as a lefty, was raised in Oklahoma.

In his first season with the Nationals, Gonzalez fulfilled the promise the Nationals saw when they shipped four prospects – including stater Tommy Milone and catcher Derek Norris, two key pieces to Oakland’s AL West title – to the A’s for him last December. He made the all-star team and, while R.A. Dickey seems to be the favorite, he is a top contender for the NL Cy Young award.

Gonzalez will start Game 1 of the Nationals’ NLDS on Sunday.

Adam Kilgore covers national sports for the Washington Post. Previously he served as the Post's Washington Nationals beat writer from 2010 to 2014.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Next Story
James Wagner · October 4, 2012