Obama names 10 to election commission

A primary opponent of Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.) is among the 10 people President Obama has named to his commission on elections.

Trey Grayson, who lost to Paul in a 2010 Senate primary, is currently serving as director of the Harvard Institute of Politics.

The other individuals Obama intends to appoint are Disney World VP Brian Britton; Deloitte CEO Joe Echevarria; Larry Lomax, the registrar of Clark County, Nev.; New York Public Library Vice President Michele Coleman Mayes, Michele Coleman Mayes, the assistant general counsel of the Texas County and District Retirement System; Tammy Patrick, a federal compliance officer for the Maricopa County, Ariz., elections department; and Christopher Thomas the director of elections in the Michigan Department of State.

Co-chairs Robert Bauer and Ben Ginsberg, who served respectively as Obama and Mitt Romney's campaign legal counsel, were named to the commission.

The president created the commission in March, fulfilling a promise he made in his State of the Union address.

Rachel Weiner covers local politics for The Washington Post.
Continue reading
Show Comments
Most Read Politics



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters