Most Read: Sports
Complete coverage
Hokies Journal
Follow on Twitter AllMetSports |  On Facebook Fan on Facebook |  E-mail alerts: Redskins  and Sports |  RSS  RSS
Posted at 05:09 PM ET, 04/08/2011

All-Met basketball trivia

We unveiled the 2011 All-Met basketball teams today. You can find the boys’ team here, the girls’ team here and a list of previous All-Met teams back to 1990 here.

Some random facts and figures about the All-Met basketball teams:

* Since 1957, only three players from Howard County schools have been named All-Met in boys’ basketball: Oakland Mills forward Greg Whittington (2011), River Hill center Kevin Steenberge (2002) and Mount Hebron guard-forward Barry Young (1987). Whittington is the first to be named Player of the Year.
The 2011 All-Met boys’ basketball team (Jonathan Newton - WASHINGTON POST)

* Gonzaga guard Nate Britt is just the eighth sophomore to be named All-Met in boys’ basketball since 1957. He joins a very select group: Mike Beasley (Riverdale Baptist, 2005), Chris Wright (St. John’s, 2005), Cliff Hawkins (Potomac, Va., 1998), Adrian Dantley (DeMatha, 1971), Harold Fox (Northwestern, 1966), Willie Allen (Richard Montgomery, 1965), and Fred Hetzel (Landon, 1959).

* St. John’s guard Lindsay Allen is the eighth sophomore to be named All-Met in girls’ basketball since 1985. This is also an elite group, considering that six girls who were named All-Met as sophomores went on to become three-time All-Mets and Players of the Year: Tierra Ruffin-Pratt (T.C. Williams, 2007), Jasmine Thomas (Oakton, 2005), Monica Wright (Forest Park, 2004), Kara Lawson (West Springfield, 1997), Amy Duran (Stone Ridge, 1993) and Penny Moore (Stuart, 1985).

* Montrose Christian put two players on the All-Met first team: senior guard Tyrone Johnson and junior forward Michael Carrera. Since 2000, the Rockville private school has produced 13 All-Mets, more than any other school: Carrera, Johnson, Josh Hairston (2010), Terrence Ross (2009), Mouphtaou Yarou (2009), Terrell Vinson (2008), Adrian Bowie (2007), Kevin Durant (2006), Greivis Vasquez (2006), Uche Echefu (2005), Linas Kleiza (2003), Levi Watkins (2001) and Mohamed Diakite (2000).

The 2011 All-Met girls’ basketball team (Jonathan Newton - WASHINGTON POST)
On the girls’ side, Riverdale Baptist (nine, including 2011 All-Met Tyonna Williams), St. John’s (eight, including 2011 honorees Allen and Mooriah Rowser) and McNamara (eight, including 2011 Player of the Year Taylor Brown) have the most All-Mets since 2000.

By Washington Post editors  |  05:09 PM ET, 04/08/2011

Read what others are saying

    © 2011 The Washington Post Company