Maryland commission will examine possibility that eliminated programs will return

(Patrick Semansky/Associated Press)

To prepare for the University of Maryland’s impending move to the Big Ten and the Committee for Institutional Cooperation, its associated academic consortium, University of Maryland President Wallace D. Loh will announce the formation of a Big Ten/CIC integration commission on Thursday afternoon.

Loh will ask the 22-member commission to submit a report by June 30, 2013, to address the future of the seven varsity sports teams that Maryland eliminated this summer because of the financial deficit within the athletic department, among other aspects. 

The commission will review the athletic department’s finances and recommend which of sports should be reinstated, and on what timeline. Given the revenue anticipated from the Big Ten move, which becomes official on July 1, 2014, Loh asked the commission for a plan to ensure the department’s “financial health for at least the next two decades.”

The commission will also explore the allocation of some revenue to support  financial aid for non-athletes, a point made by Loh during the news conference announcing Maryland’s move. It will also look at how to best utilize the Big Ten Network to “tell the University of Maryland story.” 

Progress reports, while not mandatory, will be made public. The 22 members will come from all aspects of the Terrapins community, including Board of Trustees members, student government leaders, boosters, faculty, alumni and members of the athletic department. It will be co-chaired by Barry Gossett, the vice president of Maryland’s Board of Regents who chaired the original commission that recommended that seven varsity sports be cut last November, and Linda Clement, the school’s vice president for student affairs.

The full list of members is below:


Barry P. Gossett, Principal, Gossett Group

Linda M. Clement, vice president for student affairs


Marjorie Baker, president, M-Club

Robert (Bob) A. Bedingfield, Partner, Ernst & Young LLP

Nicholas J. Hadley, professor and faculty athletic representative; Chair, Athletic Council

Clifford M. Kendall, chairman, VSE Corporation

Kerry McCoy, Maryland wrestling coach

Darryll Pines, professor and dean, A. James Clark School of Engineering

Colin Potts, president, Terrapin Club

Marvin H. Rabovsky, chair, executive committee, UMCP Foundation Board of Trustees
president, Alliant Companies

Mary Ann Rankin, professor and senior vice president and provost

Cathy Reese, women’s lacrosse coach

Anna Roth, president, Student Athlete Advisory Council

Timmy F. Ruppersberger, president, University of Maryland Alumni Association Board of Governors

Harvey L. Sanders, immediate past chair, University of Maryland College Park Foundation Board of Trustees

Martha Nell Smith, professor and chair, University Senate

Robert M. Specter, vice president for administration and finance and CFO

Stephen B. Thomas, professor, School of Public Health and director, Maryland Center for Health Equity

Bonnie Thornton Dill, professor and dean, College of Arts and Humanities

Tracye Turner, vice president and chief operating officer, Optimal Solutions Group, LLC

Peter B. Weiler, vice president for university relations

Samantha Zwerling, president, Student Government Association


Kevin Anderson, Maryland athletic director

Michele A. Eastman, assistant president and chief of staff

Terry Roach, University of Maryland chief counsel

Brian Ullmann, assistant vice president for marketing and communications

Alex Prewitt covers the Washington Capitals. Follow him on Twitter @alex_prewitt or email him at



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Next Story
Alex Prewitt · December 6, 2012