Terps football announces 2012 season awards: Stefon Diggs named team MVP

December 10, 2012

(John McDonnell/The Washington Post)

With the 2012 football season well in the books, the second chapter closed on Coach Randy Edsall’s tenure at Maryland, he and his staff handed out 11 awards at the final banquet, giving team MVP honors to freshman wide receiver Stefon Diggs. 

Diggs, who posted the second-highest single-season all-purpose yardage total in school history, was also named the team’s offensive player of the year. This season, he lost out to Miami’s Duke Johnson for ACC freshman of the year and was named to the all-ACC second team as a specialist, absent altogether from the offensive lists on both the media and coaches poll.

Linebacker Darin Drakeford, who finished tied for the team lead in sacks, was named the defensive player of the year, while senior Joe Vellano, who earned first-team all-ACC honors, won the Alvin L. Aubinoe Unsung Hero Trophy, “for the student athlete that best displays the true meaning of teamwork without regard for his personal goals.”

The remaining awards, courtesy of Maryland athletics, is below:

Bennett Fulper: The George C. Cook Memorial Award for the senior with the highest academic average.

Ryan Schlothauer: The George Boutselis Memorial Award for the player who both lettered in football while attaining the highest GPA on the team and has adhered to the goals of the student-athlete ideal.

Justin Gilbert: The Public Service Award for the student athlete that has committed to serving and having a positive influence in the community. 

Matt Furstenburg: The Dr. John E. Faber Award for Iron Man, which is named after Dr. John E. Faber, who coached men’s lacrosse for 35 years and finished his coaching career with a record of 249 wins and only 57 losses, including national championship teams. 

Kevin Dorsey: The A.V. Williams Award for Outstanding & Conspicuous Sportsmanship Award for the student athlete that best displays outstanding & conspicuous sportsmanship during the course of the year. 

A.J. Francis: The James M. Tatum Memorial Award for Lineman of the Year. 

Ryan Schlothauer: Special Teams Player of the Year Award.

Alex Prewitt covers the Washington Capitals. Follow him on Twitter @alex_prewitt or email him at alex.prewitt@washpost.com.
Show Comments
Most Read Sports
Stats, scores and schedules
Next Story
Alex Prewitt · December 10, 2012

Every story. Every feature. Every insight.

Yours for as low as JUST 99¢!

Not Now