ACC determines Florida State hit on Maryland QB C.J. Brown was not targeting

October 8, 2013

(Associated Press)

UPDATE (9:21 a.m.): According to a report submitted to the Maryland football team, both the ACC and the NCAA, upon reviewing the footage, deemed the below-mentioned hit on C.J. Brown should have been flagged as roughing the passer but not targeting, an individual with knowledge of the situation said.

===

After reviewing the vicious chest-to-helmet hit that knocked Maryland quarterback C.J. Brown from Saturday’s 63-0 loss at Florida State and gave him a concussion, ACC coordinator of football officiating Doug Rhoads determined that defensive lineman Jacobbi McDaniel’s blow was not targeting, a conference spokesperson said.

According to the spokesperson, Rhoads also sent the footage to NCAA officiating coordinator Rogers Redding, who concurred with the initial decision.

Because Brown clearly absorbed the blow in his chest — and not his head or neck — the NCAA rule in question deals with “targeting and initiating contact with the crown of the helmet.” The crown, the rulebook specifies, means the “top” of the helmet.

If Rhoads determined McDaniel’s hit should have been flagged as a late hit or a roughing-the-passer penalty, the spokesperson said, that would not be publicly released. Terrapins Coach Randy Edsall filed the play for review.

Brown never returned against the Seminoles and is currently listed as “day-to-day.” Backup Caleb Rowe finished the game and Maryland lost 63-0, its worst defeat in two decades.


(GIF via SBNation)

Alex Prewitt covers the Washington Capitals. Follow him on Twitter @alex_prewitt or email him at alex.prewitt@washpost.com.
Comments
Show Comments
Most Read Sports
Stats, scores and schedules
Next Story
Alex Prewitt · October 7, 2013

Every story. Every feature. Every insight.

Yours for as low as JUST 99¢!

Not Now