Where Ted Cruz’s marathon speech stands in history

September 25, 2013

Updated at 12:27 p.m.

Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Tex.) spoke on the Senate floor for 21 hours and 19 minutes on Tuesday and Wednesday, leaving him neck-and-neck with some of the longest filibusters ever.

While there remains disagreement about whether Cruz's speech qualifies as a filibuster, Cruz in the end spoke for longer than all but three official filibusters.

Here's a quick tip sheet counting down the longest filibusters in history and the time Cruz passed each of them:

9. Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.) (2013): 12 hours, 52 minutes -- against CIA director nominee John Brennan

Cruz surpassed Paul at 3:34 a.m.

8. Sen. Robert Byrd (D-W.Va.) (1964): 14:13 -- against the 1964 civil rights act 

Cruz surpassed Byrd at 4:55 a.m.

7. Sen. Alfonse D’Amato (R-N.Y.) (1992): 15:14 -- against a tax bill

Cruz surpassed D'Amato at 5:56 a.m.

6. Sen. Huey Long (D-La.) (1935): 15:30 -- to require Senate confirmation for New Deal employees

Cruz surpassed Long at 6:12 a.m.

5. Sen. William Proxmire (D-Wis.) (1981): 16:12 -- against a debt ceiling increase

Cruz surpassed Proxmire at 6:54 a.m.

4. Sen. Robert La Follette (R-Wis.) (1908): 18:23 -- against a currency bill

Cruz surpassed La Follette at 9:05 a.m.

3. Sen. Wayne Morse (I-Ore.) (1953): 22:26 -- against the Tidelands Oil bill

Cruz would have needed to speak until 1:08 p.m. to surpass Morse.

2. D’Amato (1986): 23:30 -- against a military spending bill

Cruz would have needed to speak until 2:12: p.m. to surpass D'Amato.

1. Sen. Strom Thurmond (D-S.C.) (1957): 24:18 -- against the 1957 civil rights bill

Cruz would have needed to speak until 2:59 p.m. to surpass Thurmond.

Aaron Blake covers national politics and writes regularly for The Fix.
Show Comments

Get the The Fix newsletter

Sign up for daily updates from The Fix.

Most Read Politics
Next Story
Sean Sullivan · September 25, 2013