Who voted against the Senate bill to end the government shutdown?

October 16, 2013

Eighteen Senate Republicans vote against the deal to reopen the government and extend the debt ceiling, which passed 81-18.

Marco Rubio voted against the Senate bill to re-open the government.

Here's the breakdown of the 'no' votes (a full breakdown of the vote is at the bottom of this post):

3 are considered potential 2016 presidential candidates:

Sens. Ted Cruz (Tex.), Marco Rubio (Fla.) and Rand Paul (Ky.)

4 more come from swing or Democratic-leaning states:

Sens. Charles Grassley (Iowa), Dean Heller (Nev.), Ron Johnson (Wis.), and Pat Toomey (Pa.)

2 face notable primary opposition in red states:

Sens. Mike Enzi (Wyo.) (from Liz Cheney) and Pat Roberts (Kan.) (from President Obama's second cousin, Milton Wolf)

9 more come from reliably red states:

Sens. Tom Coburn (Okla.), John Cornyn (Tex.), Mike Crapo (Idaho), Mike Lee (Utah), Jim Risch (Idaho), , Tim Scott (S.C.), Jeff Sessions (Ala.), Richard Shelby (Ala.),  and David Vitter (La.).

1 other red-state Senate Republican did not vote following heart surgery:

Sen. James Inhofe (R-Okla.)

Aaron Blake covers national politics and writes regularly for The Fix.
Continue reading
Show Comments
Most Read Politics



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters