The best 10,068 jobs in and around Washington

Find Yours Now

Register for Job Alerts

Used Cars

New Cars

Powered by

Read Latest Car Reviews

Real Estate


More Real Estate Sources


Find Apartments by the Metro

E-mail E-mail  |  On Twitter On Twitter |  On Facebook Fan |  On Tumblr |  RSS RSS Feed
Posted at 10:33 AM ET, 12/03/2012

Helen Oyeyemi wins fiction award

The Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Foundation awarded its 2012 Fiction Prize to Helen Oyeyemi for “Mr. Fox,” a novel about a
Author Helen Oyeyemi (Saneesh Sukumaran)
writer who can’t stop himself from killing off women in his fiction until he meets his muse, who challenges him to confront trite fairy-tale endings.

“Helen Oyeyemi is a brilliant writer who works in magical realism,” said Marita Golden, novelist and co-founder of the foundation, which celebrates “the genius of black writers and the stories they tell.”

“The judges felt there was something audacious about the story and the way she told the story,” Golden said. “It continues the tradition of the foundation to recognize writers in the diaspora.”

The Hurston/Wright Foundation, based in Washington, was created in 1990 by Golden and Clyde McElvene, a marketing executive with a passion for books. Its mission is to discover and encourage writers of African descent and to ensure the survival of literature by black writers.

The winner in the nonfiction category was Tomiko Brown-Nagin for “Courage to Dissent.”

“The judges felt it was a groundbreaking work that added nuance to the setting of the civil rights movement,” Golden said. “It focuses not only on the big personalities, but ordinary people.”

Poet Evie Shockley won in the poetry category for “The New Black,” a collection of poems, sonnets and “deconstructed blues.”

“Each page was like a cartwheel,” McElvene said, inviting “readers to consider the ways in which race, like language, is a slippery enterprise.”

Finalists for fiction were Tayari Jones for “Silver Sparrow” and Colson Whitehead for “Zone One.” Nonfiction finalists were Sharifa Rhodes-Pitts for “Harlem Is Nowhere” and Binyavanga Wainaina for “One Day I Will Write About This Place.”

More from The Root DC

A part of WPFW died over the weekend

Life-size portrait of Colin Powell to be placed on public view

Beyonce gets a new documentary

Upscale shopping coming to Prince George’s

By  |  10:33 AM ET, 12/03/2012

Read what others are saying

    © 2011 The Washington Post Company