John Poole House

Historic Site
'

Editorial Review

Not many towns can boast of having their founding father's old home place intact. The John Poole House was actually built by Poolesville's founding father's son, John Poole II, in 1793. JP II, then 24, built the log structure as a crossroads store, with a loft above to live in. It was trade and supply center for the numerous large plantations in the area, including his father's. When JP II married Priscilla Sprigg in 1799, he hired a man to keep store for him and they moved to her farm in Barnesville. Later owners added a shed-roofed addition in back and, in 1866, a two-story addition that doubled the size of the place. For nearly a century the Money family lived in the house, which finally was purchased by the nonprofit Historic Medley District, which restored, preserves and operates the museum as the pride of Poolesville. The old store section exhibits the sorts of items JP II offered for sale: leaf tobacco, sheepskins, leather hides, slab bacon, tools and handspun yarns. Items offered for sale include handmade pottery, baskets and local honey. The living sections of the house are true to period in decorations and furnishings, including two walnut tables made by a local man in the mid-1800s.
– Hank Burchard