Editors' pick

A Capitol Fourth

Please note: This event has already occurred.
Tom Bergeron hosts the annual celebration, with performances by Matthew Broderick, Megan Hilty, Javier Colon, Josh Turner, Kool and the Gang, Kelli O'Hara, Russell Watson, American Idol winner Phillip Phillips and the National Symphony Orchestra. This year, there will also be a send off to Team USA as they head to the London Olympics by Apolo Anton Ohno and a musical tribute to Gene Kelly in honor of his 100th birthday.