Highlighted by a 38-acre lake, this park boasts an aquatic garden, good fishing, a handicapped-accessible fishing pier and more than two miles of hiker-biker trails that connect it to the Calvert Road Park and the grounds of the College Park Airport and Aviation Museum. No vehicles are permitted on park grounds. Visitors should enter the park via trails at the 5200 block of Calvert Road in College Park, or Osage Street and Swathmore Court in Berwyn Heights.
The park was developed during the construction of the nearby Washington Metro rail line. Builders removed sand and gravel from the park area to use in the rail project, in exchange for building a lake and developing the natural recreation area. The park got its name from a local resident; Mrs. Artemesia N. Drefs donated 10 lots to be used for open space. She recalled that her father had the area surveyed in 1890 and later rented the land to a family who used small natural ponds on the property to raise goldfish.