The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

Six overachievers compete in this musical, which includes audience participation.
7:30 pm March 14-15, 17-18, 20-21
2 p.m., 7:30 pm Saturday, March 22
7:30 pm Monday-Thursday, March 24-27
2 p.m., 7:30 pm Friday-Saturday, March 28-29
7:30 pm Monday-Thursday, March 31-April 3
2 p.m., 7:30 pm Friday-Saturday, April 4-5
7:30 pm Monday-Thursday, April 7-10
2 p.m., 7:30 pm Friday-Saturday, April 11-12
7:30 pm Monday-Thursday, April 14-17
2 p.m., 7:30 pm Friday-Saturday, April 18-19
7:30 pm Tuesday, April 22
2 p.m., 7:30 pm Wednesday, April 23
7:30 pm Thursday, April 24
2 p.m., 7:30 pm Friday-Saturday, April 25-26
7:30 pm Monday-Friday, April 28-May 2
2 p.m., 7:30 pm Saturday, May 3
7:30 pm Monday-Friday, May 5-9
2 p.m., 7:30 pm Saturday, May 10
7:30 pm Monday-Thursday, May 12-15
2 p.m., 7:30 pm Friday-Saturday, May 16-17
$25-$67
202-347-4833

Reader Reviews

|
Avg reader rating
disappointing

This production of "Putnam County" has a promising premise, a talented and energetic cast, and some great one-liners. However, that isn't enough to overcome the awkward choreography and instantly forgettable songs. It also has a dated feel, thanks to some curious stereotypes among its characters (mincing gay men and a thuggish African-American man). Not worth the price of admission.