How the Maryland House voted on legislation to raise the state’s minimum wage

The Maryland House of Delegates on Friday voted 89 to 46 for legislation sponsored by Gov. Martin O’Malley (D) to raised the state’s minimum wage from $7.25 an hour to $10.10 by 2017. Here’s a look at how the chamber voted:

Voting for the bill (89 Democrats)

Anderson, Curtis S. (D-Baltimore)

Arora, Sam (D-Montgomery)

Barkley, Charles E. (D-Montgomery)

Barnes, Benjamin S. (D-Prince George’s)

Barve, Kumar P. (D-Mongtomery)

Bobo, Elizabeth (D-Howard)

Bohanan, John L., Jr. (D-St. Mary’s)

Branch, Talmadge (D-Baltimore)

Braveboy, Aisha N. (D-Prince George’s)

Burns, Emmett C., Jr. (D-Baltimore County)

Busch, Michael E. (D-Anne Arundel)

Cane, Rudolph C. (D-Wicomico)

Cardin, Jon S. (D-Baltimore County)

Carr, Alfred C., Jr. (D-Montgomery)

Carter, Jill P. (D-Baltimore)

Clagett, Galen R. (D-Frederick)

Clippinger, Luke H. (D-Baltimore)

Conaway, Frank M., Jr. (D-Baltimore)

Cullison, Bonnie L. (D-Montgomery)

Davis, Dereck E. (D-Prince George’s)

DeBoy, Steven J., Sr. (D-Baltimore County)

Donoghue, John P. (D-Washington)

Dumais, Kathleen M. (D-Montgomery)

Fraser-Hidalgo, David (D-Montgomery)

Frick, C. William (D-Montgomery)

Frush, Barbara A. (D-Prince George’s)

Gaines, Tawanna P. (D-Prince George’s)

Gilchrist, James W. (D-Montgomery)

Glenn, Cheryl D. (D-Baltimore)

Griffith, Melony G. (D-Prince George’s)

Gutierrez, Ana Sol (D-Montgomery)

Guzzone, Guy J. (D-Howard)

Hammen, Peter A. (D-Baltimore)

Harper, Nina R. (D-Baltimore)

Haynes, Keith E. (D-Baltimore)

Healey, Anne (D-Prince George’s)

Hixson, Sheila E. (D-Montgomery)

Holmes, Marvin E., Jr. (D-Prince George’s)

Howard, Carolyn J. B. (D-Prince George’s)

Hubbard, James W. (D-Prince George’s)

Hucker, Tom (D-Montgomery)

Ivey, Jolene (D-Prince George’s)

James, Mary-Dulany (D-Harford)

Jameson, Sally Y. (D-Charles)

Jones, Adrienne A. (D-Baltimore County)

Kaiser, Anne R. (D-Montgomery)

Kelly, Ariana B. (D-Montgomery)

Kramer, Benjamin F. (D-Montgomery)

Lafferty, Stephen W. (D-Baltimore County)

Lee, Susan C. (D-Montgomery)

Love, Mary Ann (D-Anne Arundel)

Luedtke, Eric G. (D-Montgomery)

Malone, James E., Jr. (D-Baltimore County)

McHale, Brian K. (D-Baltimore)

McIntosh, Maggie (D-Baltimore)

Miller, Aruna (D-Montgomery)

Mitchell, Keiffer J., Jr. (D-Baltimore)

Mizeur, Heather R. (D-Montgomery)

Morhaim, Dan K. (D-Baltimore County)

Murphy, Peter F. (D-Charles)

Nathan-Pulliam, Shirley (D-Baltimore County)

Niemann, Doyle L. (D-Prince George’s)

Oaks, Nathaniel T. (D-Baltimore)

Olszewski, John A., Jr. (D-Baltimore County)

Pena-Melnyk, Joseline A. (D-Prince George’s)

Pendergrass, Shane E. (D-Howard)

Proctor, James E., Jr. (D-Prince George’s)

Reznik, Kirill (D-Montgomery)

Robinson, A. Shane (D-Montgomery)

Robinson, Barbara A. (D-Baltimore)

Rosenberg, Samuel I. (D-Baltimore)

Stein, Dana M. (D-Baltimore County)

Stukes, Melvin L. (D-Baltimore)

Summers, Michael G. (D-Prince George’s)

Swain, Darren M. (D-Prince George’s)

Tarrant, Shawn Z. (D-Baltimore)

Turner, Frank S. (D-Howard)

Turner, Veronica L. (D-Prince George’s)

Valderrama, Kriselda (D-Prince George’s)

Valentino-Smith, Geraldine (D-Prince George’s)

Vallario, Joseph F., Jr. (D-Prince George’s)

Vaughn, Michael L. (D-Prince George’s)

Waldstreicher, Jeffrey D. (D-Montgomery)

Walker, Jay (D-Prince George’s)

Washington, Alonzo T. (D-Prince George’s)

Washington, Mary L. (D-Baltimore)

Weir, Michael H., Jr. (D-Baltimore County)

Wilson, C. T. (D-Charles)

Zucker, Craig J. (D-Montgomery)

Voting against the bill (39 Republicans, 7 Democrats)

Afzali, Kathryn L. (R-Frederick)

Arentz, Steven J. (R-Queen Anne’s)

Aumann, Susan L. M. (R-Baltimore County)

Bates, Gail H. (R-Howard)

Beidle, Pamela G. (D-Anne Arundel)

Beitzel, Wendell R. (R-Garrett)

Boteler, Joseph C., III (R-Baltimore County)

Bromwell, Eric M. (D-Baltimore County)

Cluster, John W. E., Jr. (R-Baltimore County)

Conway, Norman H. (D-Wicomico)

Costa, Robert A. (R-Anne Arundel)

Dwyer, Don H., Jr. (R-Anne Arundel)

Eckardt, Adelaide C. (R-Dorchester)

Elliott, Donald B. (R-Carroll)

Fisher, Mark N. (R-Calvert)

George, Ronald A. (R-Anne Arundel)

Glass, Glen (R-Harford)

Haddaway-Riccio, Jeannie (R-Talbot)

Hogan, Patrick N. (R-Federick)

Hough, Michael J. (R-Frederick)

Impallaria, Richard K. (R-Baltimore County)

Jacobs, Jay A. (R-Kent)

Kach, A. Wade (R-Baltimore County)

Kelly, Kevin (D-Allegany)

Kipke, Nicholaus R. (R-Anne Arundel)

Krebs, Susan W. (R-Carroll)

McComas, Susan K. (R-Harford)

McConkey, Tony (R-Anne Arundel County)

McDermott, Michael A. (R-Worcester)

Miller, Warren E. (R-Howard)

Minnick, Joseph J. (D-Baltimore County)

Norman, H. Wayne, Jr. (R-Harford)

O’Donnell, Anthony J. (R-Calvert)

Otto, Charles J. (R-Wicomico)

Parrott, Neil C. (R-Washington)

Ready, Justin D. (R-Carroll)

Rudolph, David D. (D-Cecil)

Schuh, Steven R. (R-Anne Arundel)

Schulz, Kelly M. (R-Frederick)

Serafini, Andrew A. (R-Washington)

Smigiel, Michael D., Sr. (R-Cecil)

Stifler, Donna M. (R-Harford)

Stocksdale, Nancy R. (R-Carroll)

Szeliga, Kathy (R-Baltimore County)

Vitale, Cathleen M. (R-Anne Arundel)

Wood, John F., Jr. (D-St. Mary’s)

Present but not voting

McMillan, Herbert H. (R-Anne Arundel)


Frank, William J. (R-Baltimore County)

McDonough, Patrick L. (R-Baltimore County)

Myers, LeRoy E., Jr. (R-Washington)

Simmons, Luiz R. S. (D-Montgomery)

Sophocleus, Theodore J. (D-Anne Arundel)

John Wagner has covered Maryland government and politics for The Post since 2004.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read Local



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters