Nats dominate City Paper ‘Best of D.C.’ voting

(Toni L. Sandys/TWP)


City Paper’s “Best of D.C.” poll has now been around long enough that the original winners — crowned in 2008 — seem like they hail from some distant generation. Ben Olsen was the best D.C. United player? Gilbert Arenas won the Wizards award? And Sean Taylor was the best Redskin?

The sports offerings have gotten more creative since then, with five categories this year. And the Nationals, lo and behold, won three of them.

The best stadium was Nats Park (ahead of Verizon Center and RFK, which isn’t the greatest competition.) The best coach was Davey Johnson (ahead of Ben Olsen and Mike Shanahan). And the best team was the Nats (ahead of the Redskins and the Caps).

Also, RGIII won best local athlete (ahead of Bryce Harper and Ryan Zimmerman), and Ted Leonsis won best local owner (ahead of Ted Lerner and “Anybody but Dan Snyder.”)

Of course, last time I was writing about one of these Best Of lists, Alex Ovechkin was voted worst local athlete by Washingtonian readers, so maybe take this all with a grain of bath salt. Still, the fact remains, in the time it took a vintage punk-rock loving upper Northwest kid to go from an optimistic Maret freshman to a jaded Wilson senior, the Nats went from being a 100-loss laughingstock to the most treasured team of hip Washington.

The Nats also dominated the City Paper staff picks, with Jayson Werth’s homer in Game 4 dubbed the Best Sports Moment and the Nats dubbed the city’s best team. (Also, Alfred Morris was the Best Sports Surprise.)

(Via @Kevin_Reiss)

Dan Steinberg writes about all things D.C. sports at the D.C. Sports Bog.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Next Story
Sarah Kogod · April 11, 2013