Super Bowl 2014: Why it’s better to be an NFC quarterback

Been here, done this. Several times, in fact. (Elsa / Getty Images)

NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, in an appearance on ESPN’s “Mike & Mike” show, lauded parity and late-season drives that can propel a surprise team, like last year’s Baltimore Ravens, from mediocrity to the Super Bowl.

But ESPN’s stats department came up with a nugget that sheds a little perspective on that. It hasn’t happened all that often in the AFC over the last 11 years.


That’s right, Tom Brady, Ben Roethlisberger and Peyton Manning have hogged the AFC’s berth over the last 11 Super Bowl, allowing only Joe Flacco last year to crash the party. Brady has gone four times (five total, of course), Roethlisberger and Manning three each (with Manning taking two teams, the Indianapolis Colts and Denver Broncos, to the big game).

Over in the NFC, 10 different quarterbacks going to the Super Bowl over the last 11 years. Only one, Eli Manning, has gone twice.

After spending most of her career in traditional print sports journalism, Cindy began blogging and tweeting, first as NFL/Redskins editor, and, since August 2010, at The Early Lead. She also is the social media editor for Sports.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Next Story
Cindy Boren · January 27, 2014