After hitting her partner in the head, Taylor Townsend played doubles tennis against Martina Hingis and Anastasia Rodionova alone


Taylor Townsend (DOMINIQUE FAGET/AFP/Getty Images)

Ever watched World Team Tennis? If not, here’s one rule you should know that differs from regular tournament tennis: If you’re playing doubles and your partner gets hurt, instead of forfeiting the match, you can opt to play by yourself against two opponents.

No, it does not make sense.

Yet that is exactly what happened Thursday during a WTT match between the Washington Kastles and the Philadelphia Freedoms. Taylor Townsend and Liezel Huber of the Freedoms took on Martina Hingis and Anastasia Rodionova of the Kastles. But after Townsend accidentally dinged the back of Huber’s skull with a forehand and it was clear Huber was too hurt to continue (she’ll recover, though, don’t worry), she chose to take on the two Kastles alone.

Despite the two-on-one situation, however, Townsend was forbidden from covering her now-absent partner’s territory, meaning she had to watch passively while her opponents’ serves whizzed by.

Eventually, everyone just kind of stopped trying.

On the plus side, Townsend was able to salvage a few points here and there, but ultimately her team (as in she) lost, 21-15. (Scoring in World Team Tennis dispenses with traditional scoring and instead simply adds up the number of games won by either side. Also, the court looks like a Mondrian painting because who knows.)

(H/t: SBNation)

Marissa Payne writes for The Early Lead, a fast-breaking sports blog, where she focuses on what she calls the “cultural anthropological” side of sports, aka “mostly the fun stuff.” She is also an avid WWE fan.

sports

early-lead

Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Comments
Show Comments
Next Story
Marissa Payne · July 25, 2014