Redskins select Alfred Morris as 2013 Walter Payton Man of the Year winner

Redskins running back Alfred Morris made weekly appearances with the Washington Redskins Charitable Foundation. (John McDonnel/The Washington Post)

The Washington Redskins announced Friday morning that running back Alfred Morris earned the team’s 2013 Walter Payton Man of the Year Award, which honors players for their community service and volunteer work.

Morris ranked among a core group of Redskins players – including wide receiver Josh Morgan, cornerback Josh Wilson and fullback Darrel Young – who during the season made weekly appearances in conjunction with the Washington Redskins Charitable Foundation.

As his team’s Walter Payton Man of the Year winner, Morris will receive a $1,000 donation for his designated charity, Change Starts Now, which is based in his home town of Pensacola, Fla.

“Anytime I get an opportunity to give back, I give back,” Morris said in a news release issued by the team. “My heart for giving was shaped by others who gave to my family. I saw how selfless they were. It is not always about receiving, but giving, so every time [the Washington Redskins Charitable Foundation has] some type of event to give, I am always there.”

Mike Jones covers the Washington Redskins for The Washington Post. When not writing about a Redskins development of some kind – which is rare – he can be found screaming and cheering at one of his kids’ softball, baseball, soccer or basketball games.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Next Story
Mike Jones · January 17, 2014