Which Republicans supported Richard Cordray?

Updated 6:15 p.m. ET

Senators reached a tentative deal Tuesday on averting a constitutional showdown over confirming President Obama’s agency nominations and promptly moved ahead with a vote on Richard Cordray to lead the Consumer Protection Financial Bureau.

Sen. Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) joined with other GOP senators to move ahead with the Cordray nomination. (J. Scott Applewhite/AP)

Senate Majority Leader Harry M. Reid (D-Nev.) moved ahead with a key procedural test vote, a cloture motion Tuesday morning.

Here's how it went:

Final tally: Cloture motion approved 71 to 29.

Which Republicans voted for cloture?: 17.

The GOP senators were Kelly Ayotte (N.H.), Roy Blunt (Mo.),Saxby Chambliss (Ga.), Dan Coats (Ind.), Susan Collins (Maine), Bob Corker (Tenn.), Jeff Flake (Ariz.), Lindsey O. Graham (S.C.), Orrin Hatch (Utah), John Hoeven (N.D.), Johnny Isakson (Ga.), Mike Johanns (Neb.), Mark Kirk (Ill.), John McCain (Ariz.), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska), Rob Portman (Ohio), Roger Wicker (Miss.).

Notes: Several of these senators — Ayotte, Collins, Corker, Graham, Hoeven, McCain and Wicker — actively sought a solution to changing the rules. Wicker first proposed the idea of having all 100 senators meeting Monday evening in the Old Senate Chamber, while McCain worked with Senate Democratic leaders over the weekend into Tuesday morning to strike a deal. Ayotte, Corker, Hoeven and others also pressed Democrats to find an amenable solution.

Later Tuesday, senators voted on the final confirmation of Cordray. Here are the results:

Final tally: 66 to 34.

Which Democrats voted for Cordray?: All 54 members of the Senate Democratic caucus voted in favor of his nomination.

Which Republicans voted for Cordray?: 12.

The GOP senators were Saxby Chambliss (Ga.), Tom Coburn (Okla.), Susan Collins (Maine), Bob Corker (Tenn.), Jeff Flake (Ariz.), Lindsey O. Graham (S.C.), Orrin Hatch (Utah), Johnny Isakson (Ga.), John McCain (Ariz.), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska), Rob Portman (Ohio) and Roger Wicker (Miss.).

Notes:  Far fewer GOP senators voted for final confirmation than backed ending debate on the Cordray nomination. Coburn voted against cloture, but for final confirmation while Ayotte, Blunt, Coats, Hoeven, Johanns and Kirk voted for cloture but against final confirmation.

Follow Ed O'Keefe on Twitter: @edatpost

Ed O’Keefe is covering the 2016 presidential campaign, with a focus on Jeb Bush and other Republican candidates. He's covered presidential and congressional politics since 2008. Off the trail, he's covered Capitol Hill, federal agencies and the federal workforce, and spent a brief time covering the war in Iraq.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read Politics



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters

Next Story
Chris Cillizza · July 16, 2013

To keep reading, please enter your email address.

You’ll also receive from The Washington Post:
  • A free 6-week digital subscription
  • Our daily newsletter in your inbox

Please enter a valid email address

I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Please indicate agreement.

Thank you.

Check your inbox. We’ve sent an email explaining how to set up an account and activate your free digital subscription.