Texas Election Results 2012: Cruz wins Senate seat; Gallego beats freshman Rep. Canseco in House race

Here is a summary of the election results in Texas: (View full map)


Mitt Romney was the decisive winner of this consistently red state, according to the Associated Press said. He rolled up 57 percent of the vote compared to Obama’s 41 percent. Texans have voted for Republicans for president in each of the past nine general elections. In 2008, John McCain received 55 percent of votes in the Lone Star State.


Ted Cruz, a former state solicitor general and Republican up-and-comer, won the Senate seat of retiring Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (R), defeating Democrat Paul Sadler.


Of the 36 House races in Texas, 24 went to Republicans and 12 to Democrats. In two hotly contested races, state Rep. Pete Gallego (D) beat out freshman Rep. Francisco R. Canseco (R) for the 23rd District, while state Rep. Randy Weber (R) bested former congressman Nick Lampson (D) for the 14th District seat. Weber will succeed GOP Rep. Ron Paul, who retired from Congress have eight terms in the House.

More from PostPolitics:

For full coverage of Election Night breaking news, including reporting from swing states around the country, follow The Post’s Election 2012 liveblog.

The Grid aggregates the best multimedia, and commentary from across the social web in a clean, simple display.

Updated election results on a county-by-county basis are available on the The Post’s election day map. Sort through the Senate, House, Gubernatorial, and Presidential election results.



Success! Check your inbox for details. You might also like:

Please enter a valid email address

See all newsletters

Show Comments
Most Read Politics



Success! Check your inbox for details.

See all newsletters