The Redskins, given another life, won the coin toss in overtime to get possession of the ball and drove to a decisive touchdown that enabled them to beat the Chargers, 30-24, and keep alive their hopes of turning around their season.
“It’s too early to say it’s saved,” nose tackle Barry Cofield said. “I mean, we’ve got bigger goals. We’ve got big aspirations. We want to win it all. So we’ll see. Hopefully one day we’ll be able to look back on that at the Super Bowl parade and say that’s where the season turned around. But for now, it’s just a great feeling and we’ve got to carry it on into Minnesota.”
The Redskins will take a 3-5 record into Thursday night’s game in Minneapolis. They remained 11
2 games behind the first-place Dallas Cowboys in the NFC East thanks to Sunday’s wild sequence at the end of regulation. Linebacker Ryan Kerrigan acknowledged he was thinking at the time about the Redskins’ season being on the line.
“I’d be lying if I said you’re not thinking that. . . . I was pretty bummed out there for a couple minutes when I thought they had scored that touchdown,” Kerrigan said. “But then, man, that was the biggest relief when we held them to a field goal and then our offense just went down the field at will on them on their game-winning drive.”
Woodhead’s touchdown, with a successful extra point, would have given the Chargers a 28-24 lead. He tried to touch the pylon at the corner of the end zone with the ball as he tumbled out of bounds — which would have given him a touchdown, by rule — after catching a pass from quarterback Philip Rivers. The officials on the field signaled touchdown. But after the replay review, the officials ruled that Woodhead hadn’t touched the pylon with the ball and instead was out of bounds inside the 1-yard line.
Redskins Coach Mike Shanahan said he “didn’t think there was any question about it” that Woodhead was out of bounds before scoring.
Redskins offensive tackle Trent Williams said: “You could see that he didn’t hit the pylon with the ball. I kind of figured that it was gonna be first and goal on the 1.”
Kerrigan said he had “no idea,” but added: “I didn’t think he got in and I thought it looked like his arm hit the ground before he made contact with the pylon. I mean, I wasn’t shocked when they said it wasn’t a touchdown. But I was very relieved, definitely.”