washingtonpost.com  > Print Edition > The Extras > Montgomery


Thursday, April 21, 2005; Page GZ18



PO Box 95

Barnesville 20838


Fax: 301-916-3331

The town is at the foot of Sugarloaf Mountain and was named for William Barnes, who built the first house in the town. Its approximately 200 residents are governed by two commissioners and a president. The volunteer officers serve two-year terms. Meetings are held at 7:30 p.m. the third Monday of the month.

Peter T. Menke

Town Commission president



Bonnie S. Brown

Commission member

J. Houston Miller

Commission member

Patricia H.G. Menke


William J. Roberts

Town attorney


PO Box 67

Brookeville 20833


Fax: 301-570-0355



The town, incorporated in 1890, was founded near a grist mill. Its approximately 130 residents are governed by a president and two commissioners. The volunteer officials serve two-year terms. Meetings are held at 8:00 p.m. the second Monday of the month.

Richard S. Allan

Town Commission president

Michael Acierno

Commission member

Robert K. Heritage

Commission member

Chevy Chase View

PO Box 136

Kensington 20895


Fax: 301-949-9274


Chevy Chase View was incorporated in 1993. Its approximately 900 residents are governed by a four-member council and chairman. The volunteer members serve two-year terms. Meetings are held at 7:30 p.m. the third Wednesday of the month.

Jana S. Coe

Town administrator

William Tyson

Town Council treasurer

Doug McDaniel

Town Council member

George E. Monk Jr.

Town Council chairman

Chandler Wiegand

Town Council acting chairman

Helen Whisman

Town Council assistant treasurer

Chevy Chase Village

5906 Connecticut Ave.

Chevy Chase 20815


Fax: 301-907-9721


This town was incorporated in 1951 and borders the District of Columbia. Its approximately 2,900 residents are governed by a six-member board of managers. The volunteer officials serve staggered two-year terms. Meetings are held at 7:30 p.m. the second Monday of the month.

Geoffrey B. Biddle

Village manager

Richard S. Rodin

Board of Managers chairman

George L. Kinter

Board of Managers vice chairman

Susie A. Eig

Board of Managers member

Douglas B. Kamerow

Board of Managers member

Samuel A. Lawrence

Board of Managers member

Betsy Stephens

CONTINUED    1 2 3 4 5    Next >

© 2005 The Washington Post Company