Page 2 of 2   <      

For Santorum, Bigger Is Definitely Not Better

The site shows which candidates are getting the most clicks, and has a "Hot Stories" section. Maybe '08 fever hasn't really swept the Internet yet -- on Friday evening, the five hottest stories had registered four to eight clicks each. Despite his GOP credentials, Ruffini says "The Wire," as he calls it, is a nonpartisan effort.

"A computer program goes out and finds all the links, with minimal editing on my part," Ruffini wrote in an e-mail. "The goal is to present relevant stories and blog entries unfiltered and let readers decide what's important."

Each headline has a head shot of the candidate next to it, and the site has tote boards with labels that rank candidates on charts such as "Hot on Blogs" and "Big in MSM." If you don't know that stands for "mainstream media," you had better get with it. The 2008 election is less than 40 months away.

Ruffini, who calls his tool "the first news aggregator and buzz tracker devoted to the next presidential campaign," said visitors have clicked through to 30,973 stories. He said in announcing the site that being early has its advantage because it allows "a glimpse into the Statehouse or the Senate office without being inundated by 24/7 cable news coverage and hundreds of versions of the same wire copy."

White House Press Picks

The White House Correspondents' Association said that after 139 ballots were cast, Ann Compton of ABC News was elected president for 2007-08, Steve Holland of Reuters was elected to an at-large seat for a two-year term, Compton was elected to an at-large seat for three years, Doug Mills of the New York Times was elected to the photo seat and Edwin Chen of the Los Angeles Times was elected to the newspaper seat.


"I corrected his French . . . and didn't even know what he was saying."

-- President Bush, in a June 30 interview with foreign print journalists, recalling the time he mocked NBC's David Gregory for putting on airs by posing a question in French, of all things, to President Jacques Chirac.

<       2

© 2005 The Washington Post Company