Ali, Greenspan Among Medal Of Freedom Honorees

Friday, November 4, 2005

President Bush has chosen 14 people to receive the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation's highest civil award, at a White House ceremony next Wednesday.

Listed alphabetically, they are:

? Muhammad Ali, the first three-time world heavyweight boxing champion.

? Carol Burnett, one of America's most accomplished comedians and actresses.

? Vinton Cerf and Robert Kahn, who designed the software code used to transmit data over the Internet.

? Robert Conquest, a historian known for his groundbreaking work on Soviet history, politics and foreign policy.

? Aretha Franklin, the first woman to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

? Alan Greenspan, chairman of the Federal Reserve Board for the past 18 years.

? Andy Griffith, beloved stage, cinema and television actor.

? Paul Harvey, whose radio broadcasts have been airing nationally since 1951.

? G.V. "Sonny" Montgomery, a champion for veterans during his 30 years in the House.

? Gen. Richard B. Myers, who served as chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, overseeing U.S. military invasions of Afghanistan and Iraq.

? Jack Nicklaus, professional golfer who won 18 majors.

? Frank Robinson, chosen as baseball's National League Rookie of the Year and Most Valuable Player in the American and National leagues. In 1975 he became major league baseball's first African American manager.

? Paul Rusesabagina, who sheltered people at the hotel he managed during the 1994 Rwandan genocide.

View all comments that have been posted about this article.

© 2005 The Washington Post Company