College Soccer

Garey Awarded Hermann Trophy

Saturday, January 7, 2006

A month after helping Maryland win its first NCAA men's soccer championship since 1968, Terrapins senior forward Jason Garey was awarded the Hermann Trophy last night as the nation's most outstanding player.

Christine Sinclair of national champion Portland won the women's award for the second consecutive year.

The other men's finalists were Indiana's Brian Plotkin and New Mexico's Jeff Rowland .

Garey, from Gonzales, La., is the first Terrapin to win the Hermann in the 38-year history of the award. The last Washington area player to be honored was Virginia's Alecko Eskandarian , now with D.C. United, in 2002.

Garey led the nation in goals (22) and points (51) for the Terps, who, after losing in the NCAA semifinals the previous three seasons, defeated Southern Methodist and New Mexico in the final four last month in Cary, N.C. He also set school records for career goals (60) and points (140).

After attending the MLS scouting combine in Carson, Calif., next week, Garey is likely to be selected in the first round of the league draft Jan. 20 in Philadelphia.

-- Steven Goff

© 2006 The Washington Post Company