Film Academy Invites 120 New Members

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
The Associated Press
Wednesday, July 5, 2006; 7:38 PM

LOS ANGELES -- Jake Gyllenhaal, Werner Herzog, Dolly Parton and Dakota Fanning were among those who received one of Hollywood's most exclusive invitations Wednesday.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences _ which votes on the Oscars _ invited them to join its ranks.

The academy offered membership to 120 actors, directors, producers, animators, cinematographers, musicians, writers, editors and other industry professionals to fill vacancies in the organization created by retirement or death, academy President Sid Ganis said.

Candidates are considered by committees from the academy's 14 branches.

Among the 2006 invitees: eight Oscar winners and 39 nominees, including Rachel Weisz, Terrence Howard, Felicity Huffman, Heath Ledger, Joaquin Phoenix, David Strathairn, "Crash" producer Cathy Shulman, "Crash" co-screenwriter Bobby Moresco and "Pride & Prejudice" composer Dario Marianelli.


On the Net:

More in Entertainment News

Eye on Entertainment

Surf through pictures of famous faces, including Russell Brand, Taylor Swift, Pamela Anderson, Justin Bieber and others.

Celebritology 2.0

Liz Kelly and Jen Chaney flip through the world of entertainment and stars with their oft-updated blog.


Lady Gaga, Taylor Swift and others take home honors.

© 2006 The Associated Press

Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity