Incumbents Win GOP Races For County Board, Md. Senate

By Nelson Hernandez
Washington Post Staff Writer
Wednesday, September 13, 2006

Frederick County voters didn't spring any major surprises on the county's primary election candidates, choosing incumbents in most contested races, including the Republican races for state Senate and Board of Commissioners.

The four incumbent candidates for the Board of County Commissioners comfortably led the pack. John R. Lovell Jr., Michael L. Cady and John L. "Lennie" Thompson Jr. won in the Republican primary and will proceed to the general election alongside fellow Republicans Charles A. Jenkins and David Gray.

The four Democrats in the race, including incumbent Jan H. Gardner, will also be on the November ballot.

In the District 3 state Senate race, Republican incumbent Sen. Alex X. Mooney captured 64 percent of the vote with about half of the votes counted, leading challengers Hugh Warner and Tim Brooks.

The four incumbent candidates for the nonpartisan Board of Education -- Bonnie S. Borsa, Mike Schaden, Jean Smith and Daryl A. Boffman -- were the top vote-getters of the eight who will advance to the general election.

The other four are Leslie Ann Mansfield, Angie L. Fish, Jonathan Switzer and Whitney McDyer Duck.

In the Republican primary for state's attorney, candidates were seeking to replace Scott L. Rolle, who is running for Maryland attorney general. Charlie Smith defeated Dino E. Flores Jr. William Poffenbarger was unopposed.

In the race for sheriff, four Republicans and two Democrats sought their party's nomination after the retirement of incumbent Sheriff James W. Hagy. In the Republican primary, Chuck Jenkins beat Harold L. Domer Jr., and Democratic candidate Charles I. Tobery Jr. won over Tony Lawson.

© 2006 The Washington Post Company