Slow-Growth Advocates Reign, 2 Incumbents Out In Board Race

By William Wan
Washington Post Staff Writer
Wednesday, November 8, 2006

Growth rather than party labels dominated the Frederick County commissioners race yesterday, as voters ousted two incumbents who supported development in favor of candidates who had campaigned heavily to moderate the pace of growth.

In a county that is quickly shedding its rural character, Jan H. Gardner -- the lone incumbent Democrat and an outspoken advocate for controlling growth -- was the top vote-getter last night with all 60 precincts reporting. Other supporters of restricted growth -- challengers David Gray (R), Kai John Hagen (D) and incumbent John L. "Lennie" Thompson Jr. (R) -- also had comfortable leads in the race for seats on the five-member Board of County Commissioners. About 4,700 absentee ballots must be counted in the coming days.

Three GOP candidates -- incumbents Mike Cady and John R. Lovell Jr. as well as challenger Charles A. Jenkins -- had backed continued development, prompting critics to cite their campaign contributions from the building industry. Only Jenkins, who also had emphasized improving transportation, looked to have won a seat on the commission.

Other races were too close to call last night. State Sen. Alex X. Mooney (R) held a slight lead over Democratic challenger Candy O. Greenway. The race had grown increasingly personal and heated in the final weeks, with each candidate portraying the other as beholden to lobbyists, party leaders and special interests.

In the race for state's attorney, Charlie Smith (R) defeated William "Bill" Poffenbarger (D). Scott L. Rolle, the incumbent, did not seek another term because he ran for Maryland attorney general. He lost to Democrat Douglas F. Gansler.

Republican Chuck Jenkins was elected sheriff, defeating Democrat Charles I. Tobery Jr.

In the nonpartisan school board race, debate centered on how to pay for new schools and upgrade the curriculum. The four incumbents up for election on the seven-member board beat four challengers.

© 2006 The Washington Post Company