A City Fights for a Team

A City Fights for a Team

(By Lloyd Pearson -- Associated Press)
Saturday, January 13, 2007

Jan. 23, 1953: The Colts franchise moves from Dallas to Baltimore, replacing a defunct Baltimore Colts franchise. It becomes the team of Weeb Ewbank, Don Shula and Johnny Unitas.

1958 and '59 seasons: The Colts beat the Giants in two straight NFL championships.

Jan. 17, 1971: The Colts win Super Bowl V over the Cowboys.

March 28, 1984: In the middle of the night, after six straight losing seasons, the team leaves Baltimore for Indianapolis (above).

Nov. 6, 1995: Cleveland Browns owner Art Modell announces that his team will move to Baltimore.

April 20, 1996: The Baltimore Ravens draft T Jonathan Ogden and LB Ray Lewis.

Sept 1, 1996: The Ravens win their Baltimore debut.

Jan. 28, 2001: Baltimore fans have another Super Bowl champion, 30 years after the first.

Today: This game will be the teams' seventh meeting. Indianapolis has won four.

© 2007 The Washington Post Company