It's Unanimous: Green, Hibbert Honored

Associated Press
Tuesday, March 6, 2007

Georgetown juniors Jeff Green and Roy Hibbert were among five unanimous selections to the all-Big East first team announced yesterday.

Pittsburgh's Aaron Gray, the only repeat selection from last season, and fellow seniors Herbert Hill of Providence and Demetris Nichols of Syracuse were the other unanimous picks in the voting of the league's 16 head coaches.

Also selected to the 11-man first team were Russell Carter and Colin Falls of Notre Dame, Dominic James of Marquette, Lamont Hamilton of St. John's, Curtis Sumpter of Villanova and Frank Young of West Virginia. All are seniors except James, a sophomore who was the league's rookie of the year last season.

Green and Hibbert, both second-team selections last season, led the Hoyas (23-6, 13-3) to their first outright Big East regular season title since 1989. The 6-foot-9 Green leads Georgetown in scoring at 13.6 points per game, and the 7-2 Hibbert averages 12.7 points and leads the Hoyas with 6.4 rebounds per game.

Villanova's Scottie Reynolds (Herndon) was a unanimous pick to the 11-member all-rookie team.

· ACC HONORS: Five teams placed players on the all-ACC first team, with North Carolina's Tyler Hansbrough, Boston College's Jared Dudley and Florida State's Al Thornton unanimously selected by the 106 voting members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. They were joined by Virginia's Sean Singletary and Virginia Tech's Zabian Dowdell.

The first-team was made up of the ACC's five leading scorers, with Thornton leading the way at 20.1 points per game. Dudley and Hansbrough are the league's top two rebounders.

Hansbrough was a unanimous selection for the second straight year, and Singletary also repeated as an all-ACC first-teamer.

Singletary, a junior guard, averaged 18.8 points and made 40 percent of his three-pointers in leading the Cavaliers to a share of their first ACC regular season title since 1995.

Dowdell, a senior guard, averaged 18.3 points in leading the Hokies to a surprising sweep of North Carolina and the No. 3 seed in the conference tournament, teaming with third-team selection Jamon Gordon in the back court to make Virginia Tech a factor in its new league.

Virginia guard J.R. Reynolds and Maryland's D.J. Strawberry made the second team.

Gordon, Dowdell and Strawberry were joined on the all-defensive first team by Maryland's Ekene Ibekwe and Duke's Josh McRoberts.

· ATLANTIC 10 HONORS: Massachusetts forward Stephane Lasme was selected as the conference player of the year in voting by the league's coaches.

The senior also was voted the conference's defensive player of the year for the second straight season, the league announced.

George Washington placed two players on the third team, senior guard Carl Elliott and junior guard Maureece Rice.

· BROKEN NOSE: Hansbrough will probably play in the ACC tournament despite breaking his nose during the final seconds of Carolina's victory over Duke on Sunday.

Hansbrough suffered what Coach Roy Williams said was a small nondisplaced fracture when Duke's Gerald Henderson flagrantly fouled him with 15 seconds left in the Tar Heels' 86-72 win.

Williams said Hansbrough is being fitted with a custom-made protective mask and should be ready for North Carolina's first tournament game Friday.

· WINTHROP DEBUTS: Winthrop's impressive run to another NCAA tournament bid has the Eagles in the Associated Press top 25 for the first time. While Ohio State stayed No. 1 in the rankings for the second straight week, Winthrop (28-4) moved in at No. 24.

Gonzaga, Niagara Are In

Derek Raivio scored 28 points and Gonzaga earned a spot in the NCAA tournament with a 77-68 victory over Santa Clara in the West Coast Conference championship game in Portland, Ore.

The top-seeded Bulldogs (23-10) have been to the NCAA tournament the past eight years, but a turbulent season had thrown a ninth trip into some doubt.

Gonzaga, which finished the regular season one game ahead of Santa Clara in the WCC, has won eight of the last nine conference tournaments, with the streak interrupted only by San Diego in 2003.

The second-seeded Broncos (21-10) have not been to the NCAA tournament since 1996, Steve Nash's senior year. Scott Dougherty led Santa Clara with 16 points.

· NIAGARA 83, SIENA 79: In Bridgeport, Conn., Tyrone Lewis scored a career-high 24 points and Clif Brown had 14 points and 16 rebounds to lead the Purple Eagles to an 83-79 victory over the Saints in the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference championship game.

Niagara (22-11) will be making its second NCAA tournament appearance in three years. The Purple Eagles won their 11th straight game and avenged a pair of regular season losses to Siena (20-12), which was led by Alex Franklin's 27 points.

View all comments that have been posted about this article.

© 2007 The Washington Post Company