Pelosi Reveals Who's Who On Global Warming Panel

Monday, March 12, 2007

The best-kept secret on the Hill -- the full membership of the new committee on global warming -- is no longer secret. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) has announced the 15 members of the committee, formally known as the Select Committee on Energy Independence and Global Warming.

Pelosi's decision to create the committee initially sparked a turf war. Many saw it as a way to diminish the influence of veteran lawmakers, such as Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman John D. Dingell (D-Mich.), who in the past guarded the interests of the big U.S. automakers from his state by opposing higher fuel-efficiency standards.

Pelosi said that the committee would be designed to raise the visibility of energy and climate-change issues and that it would not have legislative jurisdiction. "Global warming and energy independence are urgent issues that have profound implications for our nation's economic competitiveness, natural security, environmental quality and public health," Pelosi said in announcing the panel's members Friday. They are:

Edward J. Markey (D-Mass.), who will chair the committee

Earl Blumenauer (D-Ore.)

Jay Inslee (D-Wash.)

John B. Larson (D-Conn.)

Hilda L. Solis (D-Calif.)

Stephanie Herseth (D-S.D.)

Emanuel Cleaver II (D-Mo.)

John Hall (D-N.Y.)

Jerry McNerney (D-Calif.)

F. James Sensenbrenner Jr. (R-Wis.), the ranking minority member

John Shadegg (R-Ariz.)

Greg Walden (R-Ore.)

John Sullivan (R-Okla.)

Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.)

Candice S. Miller (R-Mich.)

© 2007 The Washington Post Company