Inductees to Songwriters Hall Announced

The Associated Press
Monday, March 19, 2007; 4:14 PM

NEW YORK -- Jackson Browne, Don Black and Michael Masser are among this year's inductees into the Songwriters Hall of Fame, which recognizes the work of composers and lyricists who create popular music worldwide.

Irving Burgie, Bobby Weinstein and Teddy Randazzo will also be honored, SHOF Chairman and Chief Executive Hal David announced Monday.

"From soaring film scores to seminal rock 'n' roll, from calypso classics to pop anthems, this year's inductees truly have contributed to the soundtrack of our lives," David in a statement.

The induction ceremony will be held June 7 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York. Special award honorees will be announced later.

Previous inductees include Paul Simon, Bob Dylan, Billy Joel, Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Brian Wilson, James Taylor and Phil Collins.

The Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond.

A nominating committee selects candidates for induction. Songwriters who have been in the profession for 20 years or more and have written an extensive catalog of hits are eligible.


On the Net:

Songwriters Hall of Fame:

© 2007 The Associated Press