Page 2 of 2   <      

Durant, Oden on AP All-America Team

"It's just younger guys coming in and just playing basketball, not worried about age or anything," he said.

Both played in college in large part because of the new rule that prohibits the NBA from drafting players until they turn 19 and are out of high school for one year.

"I'm not sold that the rule is right or wrong, but I think it shows you the impact and the influx of how many great players are out there," said Ohio State coach Thad Matta. "I think that's why there's so much parity nowadays in college basketball."

Tucker and Law were Wisconsin's and Texas A&M's first All-America selections, while Afflalo was UCLA's first since Ed O'Bannon in 1995.

The 6-6 Tucker, the Big Ten player of the year who helped the Badgers to their first No. 1 ranking, averaged 19.9 points and 5.4 rebounds.

Law led the Aggies' resurgence from an 0-16 Big 12 record in 2003-04 to this season, when they ranked as high as sixth in the country. The 6-3 guard averaged 17.9 points and 5.3 assists while shooting 51 percent from the field.

"It doesn't get any bigger than that as far as individual accolades," he said. "Your team can do more, but first-team AP All-American? That's unbelievable. I'm very excited and happy."

Afflalo submitted his name to the NBA draft last season after leading the Bruins to the national championship game, but returned and averaged 16.7 points and was selected Pac-10 player of the year.

"First and foremost team goals are always most important, but when it comes to the All-America team it's a positive thing," Afflalo said. "It shows that other people who know the game of basketball understand my contributions and importance to my team."

Durant's 72 first-team votes gave him 360 points. Tucker received 64 first-team votes and 344 points, followed by Law (59, 320 points), Afflalo (52, 304), and Oden (34, 263).

The second team consists of seniors Nick Fazekas of Nevada and Jared Dudley of Boston College, juniors Chris Lofton of Tennessee and Joakim Noah of Florida and sophomore Tyler Hansbrough of North Carolina.

The third team has seniors Aaron Brooks of Oregon, Al Thornton of Florida State and Aaron Gray of Pittsburgh and juniors Jeff Green of Georgetown and Al Horford of Florida.

The preseason All-America team was Hansbrough, Noah, Ronald Steele of Alabama, Glen Davis of LSU and Brandon Rush of Kansas.

Last year's first team was J.J. Redick of Duke and Adam Morrison of Gonzaga, both unanimous selections, Shelden Williams of Duke, Randy Foye of Villanova and Brandon Roy of Washington.


AP Sports Writers Stephen Hawkins and Jaime Aron in Dallas and Josh Dubow in San Francisco contributed to this report.

<       2

© 2007 The Associated Press