THE JERSEY SHORE

South Coast

In the mood for sweets? The Fudge Kitchen has locations in Cape May, Stone Harbor, Wildwood and Ocean City.
In the mood for sweets? The Fudge Kitchen has locations in Cape May, Stone Harbor, Wildwood and Ocean City. (Anne Mcdonough-twp)

Network News

X Profile
View More Activity
Sunday, June 24, 2007

ATTRACTIONS AND DISTRACTIONS

SEA ISLE CITY: The Sea Isle City Historical Museum (4208 Landis Ave., 609-263-2992) has more than 3,000 photos. Both Kix-McNutley's (6400 Landis Ave., 609-263-6341; $5) and Ocean Drive (3915 Landis Ave., 609-263-1000; $5) host live acts.

AVALON: Check out vintage swimsuits at the Avalon Museum and Historical Society (215 39th St., 609-967-0090). The Wetlands Institute (1075 Stone Harbor Blvd., 609-368-1211) leads nature walks from the 48th Street beach path (Wednesday 9 a.m.; $3 donation). Send putts to Davy Jones's locker at Pirate Island mini golf (27th Street and Dune Drive, 609-368-8344).

NORTH WILDWOOD: The Hereford Inlet Lighthouse (First and Central avenues, 609-522-4520, http://www.herefordlighthouse.org; $4) has a tiny museum. For test-tube shots and '80s and hip-hop hits, go to Echo's (Walnut and Olde New Jersey avenues, 609-522-8570).

WILDWOOD: The George F. Boyer Historical Museum/Historical Society (3907 Pacific Ave., 609-523-0277, http://www.the-wildwoods.com; donation suggested) is a Wildwood trivia trove. The Casba Comedy Club (3810 Atlantic Ave., 609-522-8444, http://www.casbacomedyclub.com; $15) has two shows nightly. Stroll the boardwalk. Sunset Cinema shows movies on the beach (609-522-6340; $8).

WILDWOOD CREST: Hit the Lakeview Docks (Park Boulevard and Rambler Road, 609-522-0471, http://www.lakeviewdocks.com) for Waverunners. The beach at the Cape May National Wildlife Refuge Two Mile Beach Unit is closed through September, but walking paths are open.

CAPE MAY/CAPE MAY POINT: For all things Victorian, go to the Mid-Atlantic Center for the Arts/Emlen Physick Estate (1048 Washington St., 800-275-4278, http://www.capemaymac.org). Try a Haunted Cape May Walking Ghost Tour (727 Beach Ave., 609-884-4202, http://www.hauntednewjersey.com; $12) or a horse and carriage ride ($40 for 30 minutes for two).

At Cape May Point State Park (609-884-2159, http://www.nj.gov/dep/parksandforests/parks/capemay.html), climb the lighthouse ($6) or go Cape May di amond combing (they're actually quartz). The Northwood Center of the Cape May Bird Observatory (701 East Lake Dr., 609-884-2736, http://www.njaudubon.org/Centers/CMBO) has an extensive bookstore. Hit the water with the Cape May Whale Watch and Research Center (1286 Wilson Dr., 609-898-0055).

LODGING

SEA ISLE CITY: Relax on the wraparound porch of the Colonnade Hotel (4600 Landis Ave., 609-263-8868, http://www.thecolonnadeinn.com; from $158), a 17-unit Victorian property. Party animals can play at the LaCosta Deck Bar and sleep at the adjacent Coast Motel (4000 Landis Ave., 609-263-1111, http://www.lacosta-seaisle.com/coastmotel; from $98).

AVALON: The Avalon Inn Resort (7929 Dune Dr., 877-282-5663, http://www.avaloninn.org; from $174) has a pool half a block from the beach.

STONE HARBOR: The sedate Colonial Lodge Motel (181 93rd St., 609-368-2202, http://www.stoneharbormotels.com/colonial.htm; from $168) has 16 rooms on two levels. Rent a room or the entire three stories at Pebbles Guest House (9400 First Ave., 609-368-2203; rates from $170).

NORTH WILDWOOD: The adorable Summer Nites B&B (2110 Atlantic Ave., 866-762-1950, http://www.summernites.com; rates from $145) has eight '50s, '60s and '70s-themed rooms, with breakfast served by the poodle-skirted owner. Rooms at the Lollipop Motel (2301 Atlantic Ave., 609-729-2800, http://www.lollipopmotel.com; from $185) are maintained by their owners at this doo-wop-style "condotel." The Candlelight Inn (2310 Central Ave., 800-992-2632, http://www.candlelight-inn.com; from $169) offers eight rooms as well as suites in the adjacent carriage house.

WILDWOOD: Stay in doo-wop-style rooms at the Starlux Boutique Hotel & Meeting Place (305 E. Rio Grande Ave., 609-522-7412, http://www.thestarlux.com; from $209) or bunk at the hotel's two Airstream trailers across the street. The 21-room Starfire Motel (5100 Ocean Ave., 609-522-6767, http://www.starfiremotel.com; from $110) has a pool, as does the 37-room Caprice Motel (4200 Ocean Ave., 609-522-3845, http://www.capricemotelwildwood.com; from $140).


CONTINUED     1        >

© 2007 The Washington Post Company


Network News

X My Profile
View More Activity