KidsPost Book Club 2007

A Summer of Magical Reading

Monday, July 16, 2007

The Sight

(Warriors: Power of Three, Book 1)

by Erin Hunter

ages 9 and older

"The Sight" is the opening novel in the third series of books featuring clans of brave, jealous and cunning cats.

As the books progress, new generations of cats come to lead their clans. It helps to have read the first two Warriors series before starting this one, but it's not necessary. You can appreciate these characters and their adventures without knowing much about their parents and grandparents, the main characters in the earlier books.

As "The Sight" opens, the cats of the ThunderClan have settled at a new lakeside home. They have lived in relative peace for several seasons. New kits have been born and are growing up -- ready to take their place as leaders of the clan.

Three of the kits -- Hollypaw, Jaypaw and Lionpaw -- seem destined to be the new generation of leaders. Each cat has a unique talent. Lionpaw is the strongest hunter; Hollypaw is a fighter; and Jaypaw, who is blind, is a medicine cat who can walk into the dreams of other cats.

But if these three are to rise to power, it will not be easy. Each has a secret flaw to overcome; and the code of warrior conduct that has helped keep order for generations, even amid battles, appears to be in jeopardy.

Then there's the issue of the prophecy. (Can you think of another book coming out this summer that deals with trying to figure out the meaning of a prophecy?)

There will be three,

kin of your kin,

who hold the power of the stars in their paws.

Is the prophecy speaking of these three cats, or are there others in the clan who will rise to power?

This novel answers some of the questions, but there are six books scheduled for the Power of Three series, which means that while some questions get answered, new ones are raised.

-- Tracy Grant

© 2007 The Washington Post Company