Correction to This Article
This article incorrectly said that Adobe Systems was the creator of Dreamweaver software. Although Adobe owns Dreamweaver, the software was created by Macromedia.

National Design Awards Presented At White House

Laura Bush, seated next to architects Robert Venturi and Denise Scott Brown, two of the award recipients at yesterday's ceremony.
Laura Bush, seated next to architects Robert Venturi and Denise Scott Brown, two of the award recipients at yesterday's ceremony. (By Ron Edmonds -- Associated Press)
By Jacqueline Trescott
Washington Post Staff Writer
Thursday, July 19, 2007

The National Design Awards were presented at the White House yesterday to 10 top designers and architects, including the company that developed Photoshop, and a man partly responsible for the iPod.

Laura Bush told the audience in the East Room that it was a day to remember "design's ability to influence the way we live."

She said the "union of form and function has changed the way we peel potatoes and brush our teeth. Your design has made it more fun to go back in time and play oldies on our iPods and to really go back in time by doctoring our photos on Photoshop."

The awards are sponsored by the Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum, a New York arm of the Smithsonian Institution. "The museum's mission is to explore the impact of design on daily life," said Paul Warwick Thompson, the museum's director.

The awards included a lifetime achievement nod to Antoine Predock, the architect who has won praise for incorporating references to both the present and the past, especially things that call to mind the American West. He designed the San Diego Padres ballpark and Austin City Hall in Texas.

Adobe Systems, the creator of Photoshop, Acrobat and Dreamweaver software, received the corporate achievement award. Thompson said it had created "the gold standard."

The product design award was given to Jonathan Ive, the senior vice president of industrial design at Apple. Products under his supervision include the iMac, iBook and iPod.

Architects Denise Scott Brown and Robert Venturi were cited for their cutting-edge ideas and influence on the field; they received the "design mind" award. Their firm designed preservation plans for the historic districts in Miami, Memphis and Galveston, Tex. Venturi was awarded the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 1991.

Another special commendation went to Frank Ching, a prolific writer on architecture and professor emeritus at the University of Washington. The architecture design award was given to Office dA, the Boston firm headed by Monica Ponce de Leon and Nader Tehrani.

In communications design, the award went to Chip Kidd, who has designed book jackets for publisher Alfred A. Knopf for more than 20 years. Rick Owens, a native of Southern California now based in Paris, captured the fashion design award for his dramatic women's fashions.

The interior design citation went to the firm of Lewis.Tsurumaki.Lewis, which was founded in 1997 but has already been celebrated for its academic, retail and restaurant projects.

The landscape design award went to PWP Landscape Architecture, based in Berkeley, Calif. The firm's commissions have included public parks, university campuses, plazas and private gardens.

A design by Peter Walker, the PWP principal, and architect Michael Arad has been selected for the World Trade Center Memorial.

There is also an award for a patron of good design, given this year to Maharam, a fourth-generation family textile business, which maintains a collection of historic materials and reissues classic patterns.

© 2007 The Washington Post Company