Weir, Belbin-Agosto Win in China

Associated Press
Sunday, November 11, 2007

Americans Johnny Weir and ice dancers Tanith Belbin and Benjamin Agosto rallied for wins at the Cup of China yesterday in Harbin.

Weir edged Evan Lysacek in a duel between the former and current U.S. champions, earning his first Grand Prix victory since 2004. Belbin and Agosto won in the final free dance, taking advantage of lift penalties by Russians Oksana Domnina and Maxim Shabalin.

South Korean Kim Yu Na vaulted from third following the short program to take the women's title ahead of American Caroline Zhang, who fell twice.

Weir had eight triples, including a triple axel-triple toe loop combination, tying a personal best of 146.20 points set three years ago.

"It is the first time in a long time that I felt really comfortable on the ice and I think it's due to a new training regimen and just harder work in general," Weir said.

Two-time world champion Stephane Lambiel of Switzerland was a distant third.

In the ice dance, Belbin and Agosto were more than four points behind the Russians, who were penalized for an extra lift.

The Russians' final lift also did not count, costing them points. They finished third.

¿ SKIING: Marlies Schild won a World Cup slalom in Reiteralm, Austria, despite losing control of her ski on her second run.

Schild, the defending World Cup champion, edged Nicole Hosp by 0.06 of a second in difficult conditions because of heavy snowfall. She finished in a two-run combined time of 1 minute 55.53 seconds.

American Resi Stiegler finished fourth.

¿ SPEEDSKATING: Italy's Enrico Fabris and Finland's Pekka Koskela broke world records in a World Cup event in Kearns, Utah.

Moments after Sven Kramer of the Netherlands came within 0.04 of a second of improving his record in the 5,000 meters, Fabris finished in 6:07.40. That beat the mark set by Kramer on March 3 in Calgary, Alberta, by 0.08.

Earlier, Koskela set the mark in the 1,000, finishing in 1:07 to erase the record of 1:07.03 set by Shani Davis on Nov. 20, 2005.

© 2007 The Washington Post Company